Skip to content

Quick & Dirty

March 4, 2010

Sorry for disappearing last night.  It was a whirlwind day and it was bedtime before I knew it.  Long gone are the days that I felt like I could do anything proactive – these days I barely have time to breathe when I’m at the office and since I had to rush out of the office to get my hair cut (my Courtney Love roots weren’t winning me any scruffy points), I was up til the crack of dawn trying to get caught up.

Quick Indian

IMG_2104

Amy’s Paneer Tikka, which is prettier in its box but tastes amazing mixed together.  To my delight, I recently learned from our friends (who are from India) that this dish is very easy to make.  Apparently there is a great Indian grocery store like a mile from our house that sells Paneer cheese and masala ingredients.  Thank goodness because paying nearly $5 a pop for this was starting to eat into my shoe fund.

(And I just realized that bay leaf in the bottom center.  Definitely ate that sucker without noticing.)

Dirty Salad

I feed the turtles a mix of greens each week – basically the same leafy lettuces I make myself for salads.  For years, I bought myself a  couple heads of some type of lettuce each week for salads and then bought them a couple heads of some sort of leafy green.  I’d chop theirs up and put it in baggies for easy feeding but didn’t chop up my lettuce until I decided to have a salad. 

On Sunday it dawned on me (sure took long enough) that it was inane to make separate mixes and that I should just chop up all of the greens, wash, dry, and put into bags and use in both their dinners and mine.

And thus this week’s kale / red chard / red leaf / romaine mix was born.

IMG_2094

  • greens mix (from above)
  • red pepper
  • yellow squash
  • craisins
  • goat cheese
  • walnuts
  • cherry balsamic / olive oil

IMG_2101

The “dirty” comes from the way goat cheese looks after you pour balsamic vinegar on it.  Not pretty.

(But tasty!)

I’m loving salads with walnuts and a little cheese in them – give me a huge bowl of steamed rice and I might be really happy right after eating it, but I feel empty an hour later.  After eating a big salad with nuts and cheese, I’m not quite as satisfied right after eating, but I feel great for several hours.

—–

Happy  Thursday – hope your Friday flies by.  As for me, I hope it’s a quiet, ridiculously productive day.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 5, 2010 12:58 AM

    WHA??!! No brussels sprouts??!! 😉

  2. March 5, 2010 9:10 AM

    i love salads like that! Dried fruit + nuts are SO good on salads.

  3. March 5, 2010 9:37 AM

    the title cracked me up! i’ve got to get my mind out of the gutter… 🙂

  4. March 5, 2010 11:09 AM

    Ah, quick and dirty. My favorite.

    My mind must be in the gutter with Heather’s 😀

  5. March 7, 2010 1:42 PM

    Hey hey! I have been missing your posts 🙂 Glad to be back and catching up! I love buying big heads of leafy greens and cutting them up to use throughout the weeks. I wish Frank ate lettuce too- that would be fun 😉 Can’t wait to see what you make up when you do your own indian at home! I’ve been wanting to try making some of my own as well. Have a nice Sunday!!

Leave a Reply

