Skip to content

March Madness

March 7, 2010

I’ve not been very consistent this week, have I?

I thought things would calm down after the fieldwork portion of the audit, but I had forgotten how the weeks afterwards are usually just as busy if not more so for me because I’m catching up on all the things I put on hold during the audit.

Couple that with still not feeling up to par from being sick last weekend, and I feel like I have zero time to do anything for me.

Yesterday was a pretty good example of how I like to spend my Saturdays:  I woke up, leisurely drank coffee, spent about 2 hours working and then the rest of the afternoon doing yardwork (first of the season!), grocery shopping, washing my car, housework, laundry, and then relaxing on the couch with a magazine (my magazine pile is growing enormous as I’ve not had time to read any!).  We watched a movie and went to bed decently early. 

For breakfast, I had a new bar. (More on this later)

IMG_2122

At the grocery store, I found the new Dannon greek yogurt, which I’ve been wanting to try for a while.  I really like regular Dannon yogurt and since I’ve tried practically every other greek yogurt out there, I was looking forward to trying it.

IMG_2139

I bought the plain – in general, I don’t really like flavored yogurts – but they also have strawberry, blueberry, honey, and vanilla.

IMG_2140

I think I have found my newest favorite yogurt.  This stuff is thick, creamy, cheap (!), and does not taste fat free.  That’s probably the reason I like it the most.  I really like 2% fage and 2% chobani, probably as much or a little more than I like this one.  But the fat-free versions of all of the greek yogurts out there taste really sour to me.  When I eat fat-free greek yogurt, I mix it half and half with low-fat plain yogurt, but with this one, I won’t have to.

I paired it with a very simple salad.

IMG_2138

  • spinach
  • red leaf / romaine / red chard / kale mix
  • red pepper
  • yellow squash
  • balsamic / olive oil

I’ve really been enjoying leafy salads lately.  I’m reading Greens For Life by Victoria Boutenko, which is kind of new-agey and strange, but theorizes that greens should be considered a separate food group from vegetables.  I’m not sure I agree, but I do have cravings for greens specifically versus sometimes a general vegetable craving.

And of course, I’m always craving brussels sprouts.  🙂

Another craving I had yesterday was for tofu.  I’ve had a pack in my fridge for a couple weeks now (thank God for food with a long shelf life) and since Matt decided to order a burger for delivery (Picasso’s Pizza for those of you in Dallas – he says their food is actually pretty good and they seem to have a good variety), I made baked tofu a la Gliding Calm.

I seasoned mine differently – actually, all I did was pat it dry and spray it with olive oil and sprinkle with Prudhomme’s Fajita Magic – but otherwise prepared it the same way.

IMG_2143

Served with butternut squash fries, seasoned with more Prudhomme’s, and zucchini chips and loads of ketchup for dippage.

IMG_2142

For dessert, I made chocolate cheesecake fro-yo and it was fabulous.

IMG_2153

Very simple.  In the magic bullet, blend:

  • 1/2 c. cottage cheese (Daisy)
  • 1/4 c. greek yogurt (Oikos plain)
  • 1/4 c. plain yogurt (Stoneyfield Farms plain)
  • 1 T. cocoa powder
  • 1 t. dark cocoa powder
  • stevia/sweetener to taste

Then throw it in the ice cream maker and wait for the magic to happen.  Top with chocolate chips and die of happiness.

—–

A few days ago, Taylor from Wholesome Foods Bakery sent me a box of goodies, including some brownies, Crunch, and FoodBars.

IMG_2124

Wholesome Foods Bakery is a dedicated organic GF and dairy-free bakery in the Dallas area.  The treats are made with actual food instead of the chemicals, artificial ingredients, and fillers that are in a lot of processed GF goods.  One of the reasons I don’t buy a lot of GF baked goods – even though there are tons out there – is because I don’t want to stuff myself with artificial ingredients.  And since I don’t bake often (full pans of brownies all for me to eat = my jeans don’t fit), I miss out on good treats.

I inhaled the brownies before I could get a picture (uh, thus the reason I don’t bake my own very often) – they were crunchy on the outside and gooey in the middle – and I’ve made a big dent in my stash of bars.  My favorite of the bars were the Tropical Nut and Cranberry Apricot, which were both chewy, moist, and seemed like they had far more calories in them than they do (about 150 each – which is a bargain when you’re used to eating Larabars).  I do eat my fair share of Larabars, but have been looking for something else I can stick in my purse for snacks and these fit the bill.  I will definitely be buying some when I run out… which is pretty imminent given how addicting they are.   Thanks Taylor!

—-

We’re about to have a very busy couple weeks.  I’m going to see my BFF’s new house in OKC, we’re having house guests 3 out of the next 4 weekends, and my Dad’s birthday is at the end of the month.  March Madness indeed!

How was your weekend?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 8, 2010 6:01 AM

    Sorry to hear you’re still super busy! Girl- you deserve a massive vaca!! I have been wanting to try that greek yogurt, glad to hear you like it! I just got the new Oikos Carmel and Chocolate=amazing! The Wholesomefood products look amazing! Can you buy them at a store anywhere ? Or just order online?? Have a good Monday

  2. hrmeredith1 permalink
    March 8, 2010 9:32 AM

    YAY! Finally a Greek yogurt that won’t break my bank! I’ll def be looking for this at my grocery store. I’ma be making some sprouts tonight, I’m craving them too. Hope you get some free time soon so you can relax! I hate it when my magazine pile grows taller than me!

    Heather @ http://www.forthehealthofit01.wordpress.com

  3. March 8, 2010 12:07 PM

    Are those bars available anywhere besides Dallas? They look amazing!

  4. March 8, 2010 1:21 PM

    i am really thinking i need an ice cream maker…and next time i get to DFW i’m hunting for those bars! YUM!

  5. thedallasceliac permalink*
    March 8, 2010 7:13 PM

    The bars are SO good – I’m going to order some tonight for myself. You can buy them online on their website and the shipping rates look reasonable. I highly recommend the Tropical Nut flavor.

Leave a Reply

