Skip to content

Baked Tofu, Take II

March 8, 2010

I’m a big fan of happy little surprises at work that make everything worth it.

It’s actually a good thing that I had a good morning because the day seemed to drag on forever.  One nice thing about my job is that I’m rarely, almost never, bored.  Usually the days fly by, but not today.

This could be because I had more than a little bit too much wine last night and was awoken to a cacophony of beeps as our power went out in the middle of the night.  All of our battery backups and smoke alarms illicit short beeps as if to say: “I’m dying here, just wanted to let you know…”  It has to be the most irritating sound at 2:30 in the morning that I’ve ever heard.  Ever.

So I was up a little late this morning and not quite feeling up to par.  And it was Monday.  It could have been the making of a very bad day, but thankfully it was not.  🙂

Last night

Dinner last night was fabulous and a little bit of a change from the norm.  It’s really a cruel twist of fate that I have Celiac disease, as my favorite part of any meal before going GF was the bread.  I could have subsisted on Macaroni Grill foccacia bread by itself and lived a happy life.

Unfortunately, my body did not agree.

One of the cuisines I miss the most is Italian.  We do Italian-inspired things, sure.  Pasta Bake and other pasta-based things.  But there is so much more out there – and a lot of it could pretty easily be made GF.  I need to remember that next time I am looking for something to make.

So for dinner, we did a take on Chicken Parmesan.  Which ended up being not-very-Chicken-Parmesan like, but good nonetheless.

IMG_2171

In typical me fashion, served on spinach and with spaghetti squash “spaghetti” and roasted asparagus.

IMG_2180

Really, really good and a perfect end to a nice weekend.

Tonight

Since I had baked tofu a few days ago, I’ve been thinking about when I could eat it next.   I really go through phases with food.   At the grocery store yesterday, I really considered buying a sweet potato, which is a big deal since I really am not a fan.  But for some reason, it just sounded like a great idea.  I didn’t buy any (I was already in line), but I probably will next week.

I enjoyed my mexican tofu on Saturday, so I made it the same way tonight:  sprayed with olive oil and sprinkled liberally with Prudhomme’s fajita magic.

IMG_2184

Served with the best vegetable on earth.

IMG_2187

I’m seriously in love with brussels sprouts.   They’re soooo good!

—–

I ordered a pack of Tropical Nut FoodBars tonight – I have blown through nearly my entire stash in 5 days.  Seriously good stuff!  And for those of you that asked, you can buy the on their website – very easy.

—–

Veg time on the couch.   Hope your Monday was bearable!

What food can you currently not get enough of? (I think you know my answers!)

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2010 1:52 AM

    I need to bake some tofu again – my last batch was not very good. =(

    • thedallasceliac permalink*
      March 9, 2010 8:30 PM

      Make more! 🙂

  2. March 9, 2010 5:12 AM

    Congrats on the bonus! VERY well deserved. I love your take on Italian- spaghetti squash tastes JUST like spaghetti to me!! Ah brussels- so amazing! Did I mention that our hotel in Jamaica had steamed brussels on all of the buffets? I ate them EVERY day. Deliciousness. I am totally ordering care packages from the Wholesome Foods Bakery- amazing stuff. I currently can’t get enough of carrot chips, almond milk, nut butter, brussels and salsa

    • thedallasceliac permalink*
      March 9, 2010 8:28 PM

      Thank you! And OMG – I would have died and gone to heaven at that buffet!

  3. March 9, 2010 10:07 AM

    i LOVE the color on your plate! so pretty and healthy 🙂 i currently cannot get enough pizza…i don’t know what the deal is, I’ve always liked it but it was never an obsession until now! weird… 🙂

    • thedallasceliac permalink*
      March 9, 2010 8:28 PM

      I have a pizza obsession too – which reminds me… we need to make some this weekend!

  4. March 9, 2010 12:22 PM

    Oat bran and puffed brown rice cereal. I’m weird.

    • thedallasceliac permalink*
      March 9, 2010 8:29 PM

      I really like brown rice cereal, too. Which one are you currently eating?

Leave a Reply

