Skip to content

Oat Bran Fan

March 11, 2010

Oat bran and I have a very special relationship.

For years, I ate oat bran every single day, sometimes multiple times a day.   It was cheap (great for a poor college student), quick, and filling.  I ate it for breakfast, plus sometimes dinner.  (Hey, why mess with something when it works?)

Then I went GF and abstained from oats, even certified-GF, while I was healing (all oats are inherently GF but commercial oats sold in North America are almost always CC).  I saw Only Oats oat bran and oats at the local health food store, but wasn’t ready yet to try them– a lot of Celiacs cannot eat even GF oats because the protein in them (avelin) is very similar structurally to gluten and can confuse our bodies.  I tried eating quinoa flakes, brown rice cereal, millet, etc., but it wasn’t the same and I eventually gave up on eating hot cereal for breakfast (which is fine by me now).

After I was comfortable with the GF diet, I slowly added some oats into my diet.  I’ve tried Bob’s Red Mill oats and the Only Oats type – both without issues.

I don’t eat oats often anymore – I find that I just don’t stay full from carbs alone.  But they can make me feel much fuller than protein + fat, even if that feeling goes away quickly.

Tonight I came home from work absolutely ravenous.  That’s an understatement – I was ravenous at 3 PM and about ready to kill someone for food when I got home at 7:30.  I inhaled 3 bowls of Rice Chex and a FoodBar while I pondered what else to make.

And then I saw the enormous carton of oat bran at the top of the pantry and dinner was born.

IMG_2209

  • 1/2 c. Only Oats oatbran
  • 1-1/2 c. soymilk
  • 1/4 c. pumpkin
  • 1/4 c. unsweetened applesauce
  • cinnamon / vanilla / stevia / pumpkin pie spice
  • Nuts + Seeds Crunch
  • craisins

IMG_2214

—–

I have a monster headache and a little more work to do before I can head to bed… but it’s all good because tomorrow is FRIDAY!

Any good weekend plans? My sister is coming to see us on Saturday!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 12, 2010 6:35 AM

    Hoooray for oat bran!

    No big plans for us which I am really happy about!

  2. March 12, 2010 9:46 AM

    OK, I just got a sample pack from the wholesome foods bakery and had to hold back my husband so I could take a picture of the nuts+seeds crunch bag before he tore into it! That stuff is AMAZING! I am ordering some to send to my sister in law as a care package before her finals!!

    That is so fun that your sister is coming to visit! What are ya’ll going to do? We are doing our taxes this weekend- blah!

  3. March 12, 2010 9:48 AM

    WOOHOO for friday! and for you and oat bran getting back together 🙂

  4. hrmeredith1 permalink
    March 12, 2010 10:50 AM

    It’s St. Patty’s Day and in Dallas you know what that means! St. Patty Parade on Greenville!

    HEather@www.forthehealthofit01.wordpress.com

  5. May 28, 2010 11:39 AM

    If I had a greenback for every time I came here… Amazing read.

  6. May 30, 2010 2:43 AM

    Really great read. Honest.

Leave a Reply

