Skip to content

Carrot cake + first ever GIVEAWAY

March 12, 2010

I am STILL hungry.  Super hungry, in fact.  If this week consisted of anything besides sitting at my desk all day and then briefly moving to the couch at night and then to bed to sleep, I might understand where this insatiable hunger is coming from.  (And typing all that made me feel very lazy)

I had a big salad for lunch when we went to Cool River Cafe.  I went there a few weeks ago with one of our sales guys and fell in love.  The restaurant has great ambiance and an amazing wine selection (not that we could partake at lunch… although my boss says that back in his day [and believe me, that was MANY days ago], they really did have 3 martini lunches). 

IMG_2219

This was the III Forks Salad, which was originally mixed greens, bleu cheese, granny apple slices, toasted pecans and a maple-pecan vinaigrette.  I had them add an unmarinated, unseasoned grilled chicken breast, sub the bleu cheese for cheddar (which I hadn’t put on the salad yet at time of picture), and put the dressing on the side.  The dressing is fabulous, but I bet it has xanthan gum in it because my stomach is feeling off.

IMG_2220

I don’t know what they do to their chicken but it was the juiciest, best tasting chicken I’ve ever had.  So, so good.

And for dinner?

IMG_2235

Annalise Roberts’ Carrot Cake!

I couldn’t wait until it had cooled properly to frost it, so it kind of fell apart.

IMG_2241

But it was carrot cake.  For dinner.  That can’t be bad.

Giveaway

Taylor from Wholesome Foods Bakery sent me a gift pack of their FoodBars to give to one of you lucky ducks. 

IMG_2232 

I briefly (briefly!) considered keeping them for myself –what can I say, they’re really good!- but you guys need to try these.  They’re fabulous.

To enter, leave a comment telling me what your favorite (healthy or semi-healthy) quick meal is by midnight on Monday night.  After the last couple weeks I’ve had, the quicker I can get a meal together, the better!

I’ll randomly pick a winner on Tuesday morning.

ETA:  Wholesome Foods Bakery is offering a discount for you all – use TheDallasCeliac15 for 15% off. 

—–

TGIF!  Have a great Friday night.  Me and my carrot cake are going to park ourselves on the couch and kick off the weekend!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 12, 2010 10:51 PM

    I think that my favorite quick weeknight meal would be sloppy joes!! They are awesome and I am sure that you could make them gluten free!!

  2. March 13, 2010 6:26 AM

    Don’t enter this chica in the contest 🙂 But I just wanted to say hi! And that the carrot cake looks out of this world. I am kind of hoping to have french fries for dinner tonight 🙂 Its good to have an off dinner every once in a while ! Enjoy the weekend

  3. March 13, 2010 5:28 PM

    My fave go to meal would have to be either scrambled egg whites or an egg white omelette w/lotsa veggies! Or a GIGANTIC salad. Or a veggie or cheese quesadilla. OK, I have several.

  4. Adi permalink
    March 14, 2010 9:58 AM

    Definitely over-easy eggs on salad greens, or an egg sandwich are my go-to quick, easy meals. There’s something satisfying about how fast they are to make — and how yummy eggs always taste!

  5. March 14, 2010 10:28 PM

    My favorite quick meal is a big grilled or roasted chicken salad 🙂 *Thanks* for the giveaway!

Leave a Reply

