Skip to content

Bowled Over

March 13, 2010

It’s strange to think that tonight was the first time I have gone bowling in 7 years.  7!

Matt, Kelly, and I went to 300 Dallas to bowl a couple games before dinner.  I did a google search to figure out where to go since I’ve literally not bowled in years.  And when I did live here, we went to Showplace Lanes in Euless most of the time. 

Kelly and me – miss seeing her all the time!

IMG_2251

IMG_2266 

So, bowling.  Apparently I am not so good.  And I saw an interesting correlation between the amount of drinks I had consumed and my ability to throw the ball down the middle of the lane.  I came in 3rd in 2 games and 2nd in the other.  Not worth mentioning my scores, but they didn’t surpass 100 at any point.  But we had fun!

Many drinks were consumed.   Several were not pictured.

IMG_2256 

IMG_2259

We bowled 3 games, each had several drinks, and ended up spending $150 before tip.  Um, I know it’s been a while since I bowled, but wasn’t part of the attraction the relative inexpensiveness of it?

We had planned on going to Freebirds on our way home but decided to try out Pei Wei instead… only to go back to the original plan of Freebirds.  See,  I’m happy that places have gluten-free menus, but I was rather underwhelmed with what they had to offer.  So, Freebirds it was.

IMG_2274

Bird salad with:

  • shredded lettuce
  • chicken
  • pico
  • guac
  • cilantro
  • red onion
  • roasted onion and peppers
  • lime juice
  • death sauce

IMG_2271

And then there was cake.  Reason numero uno that I don’t bake often:  the cake stares at me everytime I open the fridge.  Gotta stare back at it… as I eat it.  😉

—–

We’re watching the updated Fast & Furious, which is pretty much as bad as we thought it would be and then it’s off to bed for (hopefully) another glorious million hours of sleep (stocking up for next week).  Hope you had a great Saturday!

Don’t forget to enter the giveaway!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2010 5:18 AM

    Looks like a fun time!

  2. March 14, 2010 7:03 AM

    Bowling has totally gotten wayyyyyyyyy more expensive than it used to be. Glad you had fun though. The din din salad looks awesome. Especially with all that yummy guac- mmmm

  3. hrmeredith1 permalink
    March 14, 2010 9:49 AM

    I love bowling! Even though, I’m not that great at it…lol. You should try out Splitsville. It’s so much fun. THere is one in Arlington, but that Dallas 300 looks similar. I’ve never been there.

    Heather@www.forthehealthofit01.wordpress.com

  4. March 15, 2010 1:16 PM

    oh bowling…i wish i was good, but the only times i am it’s straight luck 🙂 i miss freebirds…

  5. tastyeatsathome permalink
    March 15, 2010 3:07 PM

    Ooh, bowling! My hubby and I went yesterday, actually. You and I need to get together on good, safe places to eat around here. I am getting frustrated with some restaurants that say they’re gluten-free, but then I leave knowing I’ve eaten gluten and I pay for it dearly! Grrr… That Freebirds bowl looks amazing though. AMAZING.

Leave a Reply

