Skip to content

Meatless Monday

March 15, 2010

While I enjoy meat now, I was a strict vegetarian for 6 years when I was a teenager.  I ate eggs and dairy but didn’t eat fish or meat.  I became a vegetarian because I wasn’t crazy about the idea of eating something that used to move.  And it wasn’t  really hard being a vegetarian back then – I basically filled up on bread and other carbs and ate plenty of Taco Bueno bean and cheese burritos. 

What I didn’t eat a lot of was vegetables. 

I’ve always liked vegetables, I just haven’t always loved them.  It’s really strange how tastes can change.  I ate plenty of salads back then, but they were covered in ranch or caesar dressing and lots of cheese. 

Remember McDonald’s McSalad Shakers? 

mcsaladshakers

[ Source ]

I ate the garden ones all the time and while it was probably a better bet than a hamburger, when you considered the full packet or two of ranch I put on it, plus the french fries I probably ate with it (because even with a packet of dressing, I wasn’t exactly satiated by it), the lettuce was about the only good thing for me in the whole “meal”.

I remember a tennis meet (I played JV and Varsity in high school) where I had to beg my coach to run through the drive thru and pick up 2 salad shakers for me because I couldn’t eat what they had at the meet.

I also ate a lot of the Taco Bueno bean and cheese burritos and the Mexi Dips & Chips.  Delicious (for fast food Mexican, which is a whole separate cuisine) but oh so bad for you.

In the years since I started eating meat again, I eat far more vegetables than I did as a vegetarian.  That’s not to say that being a vegetarian is inherently unhealthy – it isn’t – but the way I did it was.  And on that same token, being a meat-eater also isn’t necessarily unhealthy.  I know a lot of unhealthy vegetarians and meat-eaters alike.

All of that to say, while I am a happy omnivore, I find that I eat very little meat when Matt and I are not cooking together.  Mostly because I’m looking for the quickest meal I can throw together and vegetarian protein is typically a lot quicker to cook.  But also because I really enjoy tofu, dairy, and other meatless protein sources.

Dinner tonight was centered around the best vegetable on earth.

IMG_2297

Add a Sunshine Burger with guac and pepperjack.

IMG_2295

And dinner was born.

IMG_2296

Delicious.  And the best bet?  I made 2 pans full of brussels so I have a bunch leftover.

——–

I had a really hard time getting up this morning – probably because I have gotten used to it being slightly light outside when I wake up.  I’m ready to snuggle on the couch with a big glass of wine and a cat or two.  🙂

——–

Last day to enter the giveaway!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2010 4:15 AM

    oh my goodness! I totally forgot about those salad shakers until right now! I agree- both meat eaters and vegetarians can be equally unhealthy! Its all about a good balance. You already know I think your dinner looks fabulous based on the brussels 🙂 But the sammy looks great too.

    • thedallasceliac permalink*
      March 16, 2010 8:40 PM

      Balance – I need more of that! 🙂

  2. March 16, 2010 9:30 AM

    I had roasted brussel sprouts last night, too. I think I could eat them everyday. I even said, out loud, after I polished off my portion that I could eat them all over again.

    • thedallasceliac permalink*
      March 16, 2010 8:40 PM

      I’m not sure I could ever get tired of them. If I didn’t blog, I probably WOULD eat them (nearly) every day.

  3. hrmeredith1 permalink
    March 16, 2010 1:33 PM

    I use to eat those salad shakers all the time. lol

    • thedallasceliac permalink*
      March 16, 2010 8:41 PM

      I’m actually kind of sad they’re gone, now. I love shaking my salads!

  4. March 21, 2010 12:37 AM

    I LOVE and ADORE roasted brussel sprouts. YUMMY.

  5. Kelly permalink
    June 22, 2010 12:41 AM

    Haha I used to love those salad shakers

Leave a Reply

