Skip to content

Glutened

March 16, 2010

So, this weekend, I had a good time.  I ate out a couple times, ate a lot of fabulous GF carrot cake, and had several “fun” mixed drinks while bowling.

Unfortunately, I’m paying for it now. 

I’m not sure what it was that did me in, but I definitely got glutened over the weekend.  And today, I ate out at lunch again and definitely made it worse.  I’m not sure what is so hard to understand about “steamed veggies:  no butter, no oil, no seasoning, nothing – just plain” but my veggies were definitely not plain.  They looked plain.  The first few bites even tasted pretty plain.  But they definitely were not plain.

It’s been a while since I’ve gotten sick – likely the longest I’ve ever gone without an accidental glutening since I’ve been GF.  And man, does it suck.  I feel like I got run over with a Mack truck and I look 6 months pregnant (no joke).

So, no fun food tonight.  I plan on eating whatever I can force down, which doesn’t look like much. 

I get a lot of questions about what I do when I get glutened.  Clearly the best bet is to prevent getting sick in the first place, but sometimes it happens anyway. 

Here’s what I’m planning on doing for the next week or so while I get back to normal:

  • Keep food really simple.  Not that I eat really elaborately, anyway, but the few foods that I think I have mild intolerances to, I will stay the hell away from while I’m healing.  And I certainly won’t try anything new.
  • Drink a lot of water.  I drink a lot of water anyway – 96 oz. – 128 oz. a day – but I try to focus on chugging as much water as I can handle.  I like to imagine it’s flushing all the gluten out of my system, but it really probably just helps me heal better if my body isn’t fighting dehydration at the same time.
  • Drink healing teas.  Fennel, ginger, chamomile, and peppermint are all really good for upset tummies.  I brew peppermint and fennel tea together in boiling water and steep for half an hour until the tea is as dark as coffee.  Then I reheat it and choke it down.  It’s not tasty, but it really helps.
  • Get extra sleep.  I’m certainly not one to limit my sleep in general, but I give myself a free pass to sleep as much as I want when I’m trying to get over a glutening.  During sleep is when the body repairs itself and if my stomach is really being terrible, a nap or a good night’s sleep will make it feel a lot better, even if only temporarily.
  • Supplement.  BCQ Capsules (which I’m currently out of – darn!) and Glutamine seem to help speed recovery (or at least decrease the duration of symptoms). 

Giveaway Winner

The winner of the giveaway is Heather, who said:

My fave go to meal would have to be either scrambled egg whites or an egg white omelette w/lotsa veggies! Or a GIGANTIC salad. Or a veggie or cheese quesadilla. OK, I have several.

Heather, please email me your address and I’ll get the bars in the mail!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Jessica Meyer permalink
    March 16, 2010 9:24 PM

    I’m sorry you got glutened! That is the worst feeling ever!!!! When it happens to me, I usually take tumeric, digestive enzymes and probiotics. The probiotics help me from not looking pregnant if I happen to get glutened.

  2. March 17, 2010 5:36 AM

    I’m so sorry girlie! I hope you feel better fast! Restaurants need to be more aware of food allergies/sensitives.

  3. hrmeredith1 permalink
    March 17, 2010 7:22 AM

    Dangsky girl! I’m sorry to here about that. I hope you get to feeling better!

    Heather @ http://www.forthehealthofit01.wordpress.com

  4. March 17, 2010 8:34 AM

    I hate getting glutened. Feel better soon!

  5. March 17, 2010 11:42 AM

    Oh no! Even when telling everyone and their mother at restaurants what you have to have, sometimes eating out multiples times is a recipe for disaster. I find the fun cocktails often aggravate things too 😦 That’s why I just drink tequila hehe.

    Feel better!

  6. tastyeatsathome permalink
    March 17, 2010 2:39 PM

    I’m so sorry! I’m feeling your pain! I was glutened this past weekend as well. Still feeling the whole 6-months-pregnant thing, on top of everything else. I’m still pretty new to the whole how-to-handle-it thing, but I am finding that eating clean and simply does help. I hope you get to feeling better soon.

  7. janeterin permalink
    March 17, 2010 4:31 PM

    Aww you poor thing! That sucks!! I hope you feel better soon – your plan is good!

  8. Emily permalink
    March 17, 2010 7:53 PM

    That really sucks! My husband is on a celiac case-study in med school right now and talking with him has been giving me sympathy pains for you. I hope you feel better quickly!

    http://eatventures.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

