Skip to content

Cheese and Green

March 18, 2010

Sorry for disappearing yesterday.  I’m still feeling pretty under the weather and just wanted to lay on the couch like a slug.

I got sucked into YouTube last night and didn’t get to bed on time, so I had a really hard time getting up this morning. 

I haven’t done a whole day of food thing in quite a while, so here we go…

I’m not a breakfast person – I have to be finished drinking coffee before I want food and I often drink coffee until noon.   So “breakfast” / meal 1 / whatever you want to call it was a pumpkin/applesauce/chia seed /yogurt thing.

IMG_2315

Not pretty, but really tasty.

  • 1/2 c. plain greek yogurt
  • 1/2 c. plain low fat yogurt
  • 1/4 c. applesauce
  • 1/3 c. pumpkin
  • 2 T. chia seeds
  • cinnamon / nutmeg / vanilla / stevia

I love the texture the chia seeds give to the mix.

Part 2 of “breakfast” was a simple salad.

IMG_2324

Just greens (swiss chard, kale, and green leaf) with shredded green and red cabbage.  Plus a tablespoon each of olive oil and balsamic.

[insert lots of meetings and nothing at all exciting]

Lunch was actually a working lunch spent at Panera Bread where I will usually eat something, but given how sick I am right now, I’m not taking any risks for quite a while.  I did have some more coffee with skim while we were there.

When we got back, I got back to simultaneously filing sales taxes (Georgia, I hate you and your unresponsive DOR website), listening in on a conference call, and eating lunch.

IMG_2320

My favorite soup ever – Rachel Ray’s Chicken Cacciatore Stoup (minus the potatoes, plus triple extra veggies) .

Plus a pear-apple hybrid, which is really strange and really delicious.

IMG_2325

I slaved away the rest of the day, ate 6 unpictured Hershey’s kisses, and hit up the bike shop to pick up my baby, which got a nice tune up. 

Dinner was mainly a bunch of separate snacks.

More green.

IMG_2332

Plant blood:

  • 1 head romaine
  • 2 zucchini
  • 1/2 head green cabbage
  • 1-1/2 inches fresh ginger
  • 1 lemon
  • 2 baby apples

Brussels:

IMG_2334

Eaten cold and straight out of the tupperware.  OMG good.

I also munched on a FoodBar while I juiced and a couple cheese sticks after.

IMG_2327

IMG_2337

Continuing the cheese + green theme…

IMG_2342

IMG_2339

Amy’s mac and cheese with peas and applesauce. 

I’m about to break out the wine + chocolate chips, but that’ll probably be it for tonight because I’m hoping to hit the hay early.

Nite!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2010 4:20 AM

    Hope you are feeling 100% soon!

  2. March 19, 2010 5:29 AM

    I hope we get to meet some day and drink coffee together 🙂 Haha- I love morning coffee. Glad you’re starting to feel better. The RR soup looks good- I want to make it for Josh (and a bean filled version for me). Brussssssssels! Hope you have a good weekend

  3. March 19, 2010 9:31 AM

    oh mac and cheese…how i love thee! and brussels too? you are a lucky girl with that meal!

Leave a Reply

