Skip to content

34 what?

March 20, 2010

So, my camera battery died last night.  You would think that:  a) it would give me some sort of warning, like a flashing light that says “I’m dying here.  Please juice me up.”  or b) that I would buy another battery and keep it charged.  Because I apparently cannot remember that this has happened before and that it will likely happen again, I was left without a camera.

Which turned out OK, actually, because all I had for dinner was toast (Kinnikinnick sandwich bread) with PB&J and a pear.   We didn’t do anything exciting last night – lately it seems we rarely do anything exciting in general – and crashed pretty early.  Though, I apparently drank too much wine last night because I wasn’t feeling so hot this morning.

The weather has been gorgeous here lately – 70’s and sunny – so I took my bike in for a tune-up last week and planned this morning as the first ride of the spring season. 

Mother Nature had different plans for me.

image

And people wonder why spring is the season for colds.  Surely it cannot be good for our bodies for it to be 70* one day and 34* the next. 

34* was not exactly what I was looking for in the first ride of the season, so I did a run (on the treadmill) –swim brick instead and it was glorious.

(Pre workout breakfast was a slice of Kinnikinnick toast with PB&J and a pear.)

Matt was nice enough to make me a smoothie while I showered and got ready to run some errands.

IMG_2345

The usual:

  • 1/2 c. pomegranate juice
  • 1/2 c. soymilk
  • (frozen) berries (strawberries, blueberries, blackberries, raspberries)
  • (frozen) plums, nectarines, and mango
  • TONS of spinach

Might have gone a little overboard on the spinach there.  I could taste it (and I can NEVER taste it in smoothies) and I wouldn’t say spinach and berries are an especially great combo.

After a shower and a trip to Home Depot to look for grout or caulk or whatever we should be using for the space where granite meets granite on our countertops, I made oats.

IMG_2352

Pretty plain jane, but did the trick for a couple hours.

  • 1/4 c. oats
  • 1/4 c. oatmeal
  • 3/4 c. soymilk
  • 1/2 c. water
  • 1/4 c. cottage cheese
  • stevia / cinnamon / maple syrup
  • flax seed

Snack #2 was a pear and a cup of chai tea.

IMG_2354 

I’ve been really into pears lately.  I NEVER liked them growing up, but now I know that it’s because I wasn’t eating them when they were perfectly ripe.  A perfectly ripe pear is pretty hard to beat.  And I’ve been buying the hybrid apple-pears which are pretty fabulous as well.

Dinner wasn’t pretty.  No matter how I plate my fake baked ziti, it never looks nice.  Part of the problem is that the cheese melts on top so it isn’t possible to really arrange it after I take it out of the pan and the vegetables release water as they cook, which makes the whole thing drippy.

IMG_2363

Veggies

  • asparagus
  • yellow squash
  • red bell pepper
  • snap peas
  • carrots

+

Marinara

(Classico Fire Roasted Tomato & Garlic)

+

CHEESE

(part skim mozzarella)

+

350* for 30 minutes

=

Fabulousness.  

So good.  So easy.

I have chocolate cheesecake fro-yo in the ice cream maker right now, a bottle of wine to crack open, The Informant, and a couple cuddly kitties and a husband to cuddle with. 

Nite!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 21, 2010 7:09 AM

    haha- your exciting weekend nights sound just like ours. Sleep is good though. We also headed to Lowes yesterday for some things for around the house projects. I love your fake baked ziti- I always want to make a batch when you post about it. Hope you have a nice Sunday

  2. Adi permalink
    March 21, 2010 3:20 PM

    A hybrid apple pear?! Never heard of that! Sounds like it combines two very lovely, tasty things though…

  3. Katie permalink
    March 25, 2010 9:06 AM

    Oats?! – Ummmm, Oats aren’t Gluten-free! – You can’t go encouraging Celiac’s to eat oats!!!!!

    • thedallasceliac permalink*
      March 25, 2010 2:49 PM

      Yes, they are. Oats themselves are naturally gluten-free. Most commercial oats (i.e. Quaker) are cross-contaminated with wheat and are thus considered to be unsafe, but there are several companies that make certified GF oats.

Leave a Reply

