Skip to content

Simple

March 21, 2010

I woke up to snow on the ground this morning.  Snow, in March, in Dallas!!!

This has been the snowiest winter I can remember ever having here.  It didn’t even snow this much when we lived in Oklahoma and it is much colder up there than it is here.  2 months ago, I wouldn’t have cared that it snowed, but I’m rather tired of the up and down weather we’ve been having and more than ready to workout outside.

This morning, I decided that the howling winds and sub freezing temperatures couldn’t get me down and set out for a ride… only to be back in the house 30 minutes later with frozen toes and a (temporary) cough. 

Mother Nature = 2,  Elizabeth = 0.

Being back on the bike was fabulous albeit very cold, as it’s been an entire winter plus some since I’ve ridden.  I don’t like the trainer much and I hate stationary bikes, so I have a very short time of acceptable outside cycling before it is too hot or too cold. 

Breakfast

Before subjecting myself to frostbite, I had my current favorite breakfast.

IMG_2367

IMG_2370

PB&J toast on Kinnikinnick sandwich bread with a papple (pear/apple hybrid).

I’ve always liked PB&J but I like it even more now that I’ve found out how long it keeps me full.  Peanut butter is seriously a wonder food.

Lunch

Since I have more time on the weekends than during the week, I try to save my “fast” food for then, but all I was really craving was an Amy’s Paneer Tikka.

IMG_2381

OMG good

and to round it out, carrots with guac and an apple.

IMG_2383

IMG_2387

Dinner

A while back, Foodbuzz sent me a coupon for a carton of Eggland’s Best eggs.  It took me a while to track them down, but I finally secured a pack last week.

IMG_2397

IMG_2401

I think it just might be the cutest thing in the entire world that they stamp their eggs with their logo.

I’ve been meaning to make Tortilla for quite a while, but have never gotten around to it.  Tortilla (aka Tortilla Espanola or Tortilla de Patatas) is basically a Spanish egg and potato omelet.  When I went to Spain a few years ago, we ate it every day for breakfast.  It’s a very popular dish.

It’s also pretty easy to make.

1.  Peel and slice potatoes (I used 2 medium for a 2 person serving).

IMG_2389

2.  Heat enough oil to cover the bottom of an omelet pan and add potatoes.  Add extra oil if necessary (or if you went overboard on the potato to pan ratio as I clearly did).

IMG_2392

3.  Cook potatoes, stirring frequently, until soft, but not quite browned.

IMG_2394

4.  Drain potatoes in a colander over the sink.

5.  Whisk eggs with salt + pepper.

IMG_2402

6.  Add drained potatoes to the eggs and pour back into the pan.

IMG_2404

7.  Cook for a few minutes, then use a spatula to peel up one of the sides to see if the bottom has browned.  If it has, cook for a minute more and then – here’s the tricky part – use a plate to flip the omelet over onto the plate so the uncooked portion is on the bottom.  With the help of a spatula, slide back into the pan so the cooked side is on top now.

8.  Cook a few more minutes or until a knife inserted in the middle comes out clean.

9.  Cut into wedges and serve.

IMG_2409

IMG_2411

I had mine with a very simple salad.  I’ve been enjoying very plain salads lately – mostly just greens, olive oil, and balsamic. 

IMG_2408

Salad mix of the week:  swiss chard, green leaf, red leaf, and kale.

*****

The dryer just sang its done song (does anyone else have a washer or dryer that sings a song when it’s done?), so I’m going to stick the sheets on the bed before I fall asleep on the couch.  Because putting the sheets on the bed when you’re half asleep is not fun.

Hope you had a nice weekend!  What fun and exciting things happened?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 21, 2010 9:41 PM

    Snow? That is nuts! I want to try a papple and that potato egg mix (genius!!). My dryer used to sing when it was done, but I turned it to silent 🙂 I always felt like it was mocking me haha. Hope you have a good Monday

  2. March 21, 2010 10:48 PM

    i remember 2 years ago in dallas it snowed on easter. crazy!

  3. hrmeredith1 permalink
    March 22, 2010 10:00 AM

    This weather is completely insane! I remember when it snowed on Easter too. We were at the Rangers game, luckily in s suite, I wouldn’t torture myself sittin out in the snow.

    Heather@www.forthehealthofit01.wordpress.com

  4. March 22, 2010 10:16 AM

    Putting sheets on the bed when you are tired is the worst!

    Love that potato omelet thing. I’ve never thought to add potatoes!

Leave a Reply

