Skip to content

Can’t fight that feelin’ anymore

March 23, 2010

IMG_2431

<3   Brussels sprouts  ❤

I drove straight from the office to the grocery store and picked up 3 big bags of brussels – all $8.97 of them. 

We didn’t grocery shop this weekend, so the fridge is a little bare.  I’m out of my beloved papples, almost out of greens, nearly out of drinks, and the veggie drawer leaves something to be desired.  

I can live without milk or fruit, but brussels sprouts?  Nope.

Seems that it was just yesterday that we fell in love

But seriously, I think I have a brussels sprout problem.  I crave them like some people crave cigarettes.  The only reason I don’t eat them every day is that I try to mix things up a bit for you all (and even then I sometimes fail miserably).

Another thing that I’ve fallen in love with?  Kinnikinnick’s Tapioca Rice bread

OMG is this stuff good.  (Ignore the fact that it looks a little sunburned – I was distracted by the ‘sprouts)

IMG_2434

It is everything GF bread could and should be and blows their sandwich bread out of the water.

I’ve had a loaf in my freezer for about 6 months now, afraid to try it for fear I’d never be able to go back to the standard white sandwich bread I’ve been eating.  This stuff is way more calorie-dense (90 per slice)… which says a lot since GF bread is, by definition, calorie-dense.  That is one thing I find incredibly frustrating about GF baked goods.  They’re almost always smaller and yet worse for you than their gluteny counterpart.

I’d venture to say that  this is the best GF bread I’ve ever eaten and that the extra 40 calories per sandwich are most definitely worth it.  Yet another thumbs up to Kinnikinnick.  🙂

I ate my bread as an egg sandwich, featuring the last 2 Eggland’s Best Eggs from Foodbuzz.   I couldn’t tell a lot of a difference in the taste versus my normal Lonestar Farms eggs when I ate them as part of Tortilla, but I could definitely tell they were good quality eggs in a simple egg + cheddar sandwich.  In fact, the sandwich just might have been better than the brussels, which is almost blasphemy. 

I tend to plan my meals around the vegetable and “build” the meal from there.  The sandwich was kind of an afterthought – a “what can I get ready in the last 5 minutes the brussels are roasting that won’t suck” – but it was really very good. 

I’ll be buying more of that fabulous bread.

——-

Seriously, how is it Tuesday night already?  I feel like my weeks are just blowing by.  Got offered box tickets to the Mavs game tonight but declined as I had that exam to finish up and wanted to get in a good run.  Both of those are done, I’m in my PJs, and the leftover brussels sprouts are put away, which means… wine and chocolate chip time with Lost and Justified!

Have you seen Justified (the new FX show) yet?  What is your favorite TV show?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 23, 2010 7:55 PM

    YUM! i love egg sandwiches. and sprouts…it all sounds amazing to me 🙂 i don’t really have a new favorite show, but i am glad that dancing with the stars is back on!

  2. Matt permalink
    March 23, 2010 9:59 PM

    I worry that I may lose you to the affections of a giant Brussel Sprout. If you’re not careful I’ll start tossing the sprouts out when you aren’t looking!

  3. March 24, 2010 5:23 AM

    You know I’m in love with them too 🙂 So SO good! I think I told you this, but my mom doesn’t like brussels, so we never ate them growing up. Josh introduced me to them and I’m SO glad he did. Great din din. I want to try that bread now too! Favorite TV show is probably Lost

  4. March 24, 2010 8:56 AM

    i love your obsession with brussel sprouts 🙂

  5. March 24, 2010 10:49 AM

    We are brussel sprouts soul sistahs. mwah!

Leave a Reply

