Skip to content

Fast Food

March 24, 2010

One of the things that is most difficult about having Celiac disease is that there are very few quick fixes for meals.  As someone that doesn’t cook themselves dinner each night, I’ve become pretty awesome at throwing random ingredients together and calling it dinner.  I also have a deep freezer full of frozen Amy’s meals that I can grab if I’m in a pinch. 

Frozen meals aren’t bad occasionally (I probably eat them more often out of love of the meal itself [hello, Paneer Tikka] than the quick-fix reason), but sometimes you need to be able to grab something  fast while out.  That’s where it’s really tricky.  Starbucks sells 2MomsInTheRaw bars (which I don’t love, but they’d be OK if I was about to die of hunger pains) and Sahale nuts and even Walmart sells Larabars now (both of which are useful in a pinch), but sometimes it would be really, really nice to be able to order an actual meal.

Most fast food restaurants have some sort of GF listing, but it’s usually some sort of hamburger patty or fruit cup… which, again, is nice in a pinch, but isn’t anything to get excited about.

I can actually get excited about the Chargrilled Chicken Salad from Chick Fil A, though.  I don’t know what they do to their chicken to make it so perfect, but it is. 

IMG_2447

I drizzled a little olive oil and some balsamic and feasted.  I’ve always loved Chick Fil A’s chicken.

To round it out, I had some leftover brussels, which fell to their death from the top of the fridge this morning onto the kitchen floor.  Leftover roasted brussels on the floor?  Not cool.  No worries though, I scooped them back up before the 5 second rule expired.  (And I did mop the floor with Clorox just a few days ago, so surely nothing really scary could be on there).

IMG_2450

Fabulous, glorious brussels sprouts.  🙂

Aaaand some rice.  Because nothing goes better with a random fast food salad and leftover floor-kissed brussels sprouts than steamed rice.

IMG_2449

I ate about half – it wasn’t all that good for some reason (sorry husband, your rice-making sucked this time).

And now we’re watching the Biggest Loser from last night and marveling at the product placement.  It gets worse and worse each season.

What is your favorite (healthy-ish) meal from a fast food restaurant?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Kay permalink
    March 24, 2010 9:22 PM

    The salad looks healthy and yummy! I still am resisting brussel sprouts, though.

  2. March 25, 2010 3:11 AM

    I think its great that a lot of restaurants are starting to put efforts into offering vegetarian and GF meals. You’re right though, sometimes the vegetarian meal is like a garden salad….gee thanks (wheres my protein???). That chickfila salad looks fab- Josh LOVES that place. There is actually an almost entirely vegetarian fast food-ish type place in our town that I love – they have great wraps and on the go salads (with protein ;))

  3. March 25, 2010 9:35 AM

    I’m glad you were able to find something to eat! Floor-kissed Brussels Sprouts – that sounds like some super fancy recipe until you think about it. Love it!

  4. hrmeredith1 permalink
    March 25, 2010 9:57 AM

    Hey! I got my FoodBars last night! Sooooo good! Thank you!

    Hmmm, I’m not sure about my fave fast food healthy-ish order….Maybe a veggie sub from subway. hehe.

    Heather@www.forthehealthofit01.wordpress.com

  5. March 25, 2010 11:32 AM

    Guess what? This showed up in my google alerts for Celiac today, so your post is probably making the rounds nation wide!

    And I love Chick Fil A. Good call 🙂

  6. Lindsey permalink
    March 25, 2010 7:45 PM

    I think chick-fil-a is the only place I’ll order a salad from. Sadly, we don’t have one now that we moved. 😦 Our closest fast food options are KFC, Taco Bell, and McDonalds. No thanks.

Leave a Reply

