Skip to content

Plant Blood

March 28, 2010

Another weekend (and another month!) wraps to a close.  Crazy how fast this year is flying by!

After I left you last, I had a slice of PB&J toast and headed to the gym to swim 1.5k and then outside to run 5k.

IMG_2498

Smuckers natural PB & Smuckers low-sugar grape jam on Kinnikinnick Tapioca Rice bread (aka the best GF bread ever made). 

I was famished when I got home but Matt was making a (very) early dinner, so I held off.

We saw these sausages last time we were at Sam’s and they immediately caught our attention.

IMG_2499 

I LOVE when companies label their packages GF!  It makes me do the mental happy dance.

These sausages are actually very good and kicked the pasta bake up a notch.

IMG_2506

I had 1-1/2 bowls – I was SUPER hungry!

And in typical Saturday night fashion, I also had chocolate cheesecake fro-yo.

IMG_2509

The usual:

  • 3/4 c. 2% cottage cheese (Daisy)
  • 3/4 c. plain lowfat yogurt (Stoneyfield Farms)
  • cocoa powder / stevia / vanilla

Topped with coconut and chocolate chips.  Ahhmazing.

Then we watched The Blind Side, which I saw in the theaters when it came out last November, and I crashed on the couch.  You know you’ve lived it up when you fall asleep during a movie.  🙂

Sunday Funday

The boys were craving Cuban sandwiches when we all woke up this morning, so we headed to a little Cuban restaurant, The Carribbean Cafe.

I’m always apprehensive of eating out at little hole in the walls – actually, I’m apprehensive about eating out in general – but ethnic food is, in some ways, a lot safer than your typical American stuff.  I have found that often the food is prepared more simply and the ingredients are more wholesome.

We called before we left and spoke to someone who, at least over the phone, appeared to understand what gluten was and how to keep it out of my food.  I was pleasantly surprised at how attentive our waitress was and how much she knew about the ingredients in their dishes.  They were even able to clean out the fryer and use fresh oil to fry my plantain chips so I could have some.

I started with a cafe con leche.  Cubans are known for their coffee – how could I resist?

IMG_2512

It was frothy and delicious.

I had a salad to start, which was basically just spring mix with tomatoes and avocado.  It came with their house dressing, but I used oil & vinegar instead (salad dressings at restaurants are nearly never safe for me with all of the gums they add to make them thick).

IMG_2515

It was pretty good, but I happen to think that anything with avocado can’t be bad.

For my entree, I ordered the Enchilado de Camarones, which was described as “Shrimp Cuban Style with tomato sauce”.

IMG_2519

It came with a choice of black beans and rice or rice and beans separate.  Beans don’t like me, so I had my rice plain.  It also came with the above mentioned plantain chips.

IMG_2521

The shrimp in tomato sauce was amazing.  The tomato sauce was rich and buttery, slightly spiced, and the shrimp was fresh and cooked properly. 

The rice was, well, rice.  Nothing really exciting  to say about it.

IMG_2522

But the plantain chips?  They were fabulous!  I’d never had plantain chips before so I wasn’t quite sure what to expect (I kind of expected a less sweet banana, which was sort of what they were), but I really liked them.  They were charred, which was a nice contrast to the sweet, creamy inside.

I had flan for dessert (like creme brulee, flan is nearly always safe – I checked the ingredients and this one was as well) but it escaped the camera – sorry!

We ran some errands, went grocery shopping, and did some food prep for the week.  I made my regular green juice (romaine, zucchini, celery, cucumber, lemon, ginger, and apple) and made  small batch of beet juice to try.  I think of my green juice as being plant blood and this really was pushing that mental image.

IMG_2524

(Just a fresh beet and a small apple)

Not going to lie – it tasted like dirt.  Are beets an acquired taste?  I always assumed that the reason I didn’t like them was because I’d only ever had the canned kind, and canned anything is usually far subpar to anything fresh. 

But fresh beets tasted just like the canned beets.  Like the dirt they’re grown in.

If anyone has any good beet recipes, I have 3 more fresh ones that I have to find some way to choke down.  I checked already and I can’t feed them to the turtles (apparently they don’t like beets either).

Dinner tonight was leftovers from last night, plus some fresh spinach, and a big salad made of the greens of the week (chicory, beet greens, romaine, and green leaf).

I have a little work to do and need to bag the greens that are laying out sunbathing under the florescent lights as soon as they are dry. 

Then some couch time with wine + chocolate chips to delay the start of another week. 

How was your weekend?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 28, 2010 10:05 PM

    I tend to like my beets baked. They take a while to bake, but taste better afterward either immediately or in another dish. Here’s one example recipe for baking them and then using them. I tend to wing it, so can’t really comment on the specific recipe.

    http://homecooking.about.com/od/vegetablerecipes/r/blv268.htm

  2. March 29, 2010 5:23 AM

    That Cuban restaurant looks AWESOME! Cafe con leche…so good! I’m a big plantain fan- we ate a bundle when we were in Jamaica. I only really love love beets when they’re roasted in the oven (do them just like I do my brussels). Weekend was good. Wish it was longer (as per usual ;))

  3. March 29, 2010 7:06 AM

    I only like beets in juice but I need other veggies in there to kind of balance out the dirt flavor. I really think cukes and romaine do a really good job plus carrots.

  4. March 29, 2010 7:07 AM

    Oh, yeah, and parsley.

Leave a Reply

