Skip to content

Cream

March 30, 2010

We have some strange pets.

IMG_2537

IMG_2540

You can’t see it all that well, but there are 2 turtles curled up under Zeus (in the second picture).  Zeus loves the turtles (and the turtle heat lamp) and the turtles love Zeus.  It’s like a big happy family.

(And they’re not turtles, they’re Russian Tortoises.  But ‘turtle’ is so much more fun to say than ‘tortoise’)

I took my car to the shop this morning to get the tire patched and ended up waiting 1-1/2 HOURS to get it fixed.  Seriously – it should have taken 20 minutes.  So I didn’t roll into work until nearly 10 AM…. which I hate.  I like being there before everyone else so I can get a bunch done in peace and quiet.

After work, I went to the pool and swam an easy 1.75k .  Swimming is so relaxing, except when you have to share a lane and that person does not respect the stay-on-your-own-side rule and tries to ever so slowly inch onto your side so you end up swimming next to the wall.  Which happens often to me.

Dinner tonight was breakfast inspired.  I had some leftover defrosted spinach in the fridge and it had been a while since I made green eggs. 

IMG_2560

Just spinach, 5 egg whites + 1 egg, and a generous sprinkle of Johnny’s seasoning (please note that their “No MSG added formula DOES contain gluten”) .

I also tried the new brown rice hot cereal I bought last weekend:  Brown Rice Cream from Erewhon.

Anything with “cream” in the title catches my attention immediately and true to the marketing, this was super creamy.

My only gripe about it is that 1/4 c. dry is 170 calories, whereas 150 calories of oatmeal will get you 1/2 c.  I like volume in my hot cereals, so I was expecting to be disappointed.  But with the addition of an extra 1/4 c. of liquid, it made a similar-sized bowl.

IMG_2557

To test just how good the cereal itself was, I ate it plain jane – just soymilk, stevia, vanilla, and cinnamon.

Overall, I was pretty pleased.  This is a good option for Celiacs that don’t eat oats, or those that don’t want to eat oats everyday and overexpose themselves.

And because I like to eat random things and call it dinner:

IMG_2564

Leftover pasta bake.

I’m really surprised how much I liked the sweet potatoes I ate last night.  I will have to do that again soon.

LOST is on – can’t believe it’s the final season! 

Hasta Luego!

What are you looking forward to this weekend?  We’re having Easter dinner with my parents and possibly going out with some friends on Friday. 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2010 2:49 AM

    Hahah- your pets cracks me up. The pictures are too cute. I love breakfast for dinner. Maybe I will do eggs tonight too? The cereal looks tasty even if it is a little higher on the calorie side (compared to oats). Lost was AMAZING- wasn’t it? Love that show. Totally looking forward to the weekend- first charleston farmers market of the year and parents for Easter

    • thedallasceliac permalink*
      March 31, 2010 7:27 PM

      The cereal is good, just not as voluminous as oats. 😦 Give it a try, though!

  2. March 31, 2010 7:02 AM

    LOVE the photos of your kitty curled up with your turtles!

    We have a low key weekend ahead and I can’t wait!

  3. hrmeredith1 permalink
    March 31, 2010 11:25 AM

    I love that your cat loves your “turtles”…lol. It is too cute. Nothing exciting planned this weekend for me. Body Pump practice but that’s about it…atleast as far as I know. Wish I was going down to see my parents, sisters, neice, nephew and friends for Easter. Guess that’s always an option!

    Heather @ http://www.forthehealthofit01.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

