Skip to content

Rainbow Salad

March 31, 2010

I’m already starting to mourn my winter veggies:  brussels sprouts, acorn/butternut/kabocha squash, kale, etc.  I know that most of them are available nearly year-round now, but they taste so much better in the season they’re naturally best in.

That doesn’t mean I won’t be hoarding every brussels sprout I can find, though.  🙂

On the other hand, I am looking forward to watermelon, summer squash, cherries, and fresh berries.

For dinner tonight, I made a summertime favorite:  grilled salad.  The veggies aren’t quite peak-of-freshness good, but good nonetheless.

IMG_2580

Base:

  • beet greens, romaine, red leaf, and chicory greens

Grilled:

  • zucchini, carrot, red bell pepper, peach (all marinated in balsamic/honey/olive oil)

Toppings:

  • raisins, more balsamic/honey/olive oil

All mixed up:

IMG_2583

Did you know that red bell peppers have more vitamin C than oranges?   Crazy.

I also had some guac + Nut Thins for a snack (um, after I hoovered 2 bowls of Rice Chex and soymilk).

IMG_2570

Run, run, run to buy these.  A-mazing.

———-

Matt and I had a lunchtime coffee date today.  As busy as I’ve been in the past few months, we don’t have much time together at night before I fall asleep on the couch.  It was nice to meet for an hour and do nothing but sip coffee and talk.   🙂

And now we’re going to veg out with the kittens and go to bed early.

What is your favorite way to relax?  Mine involves PJs, a glass of vino, a snuggly cat, and some good TV.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2010 7:45 PM

    the best way to relax, hands down is to wear my pjs, cuddle up next to my hubby and puppies, and watch TV or a movie! 🙂

  2. March 31, 2010 8:41 PM

    That salad looks great!

    Like you and Heather, I relax in pjs, reading a book by booklight. Dark and cozy while the imagination flows!

  3. April 1, 2010 4:10 AM

    What a beautiful salad. Love that you put raisins on top. The coffee date sounds super nice. Josh and I are the same way right now- it feels like we have no time together! We need a coffee date ;). Favorite way to relax is a smoothie or yogurt mix on the couch with trashy tv 🙂

  4. hrmeredith1 permalink
    April 1, 2010 7:09 AM

    Yummm, that salad looks so good! Fave way to relax would be w/a glas sof wine, or a beer (I’ma beer girl) on the couch on the internets, hehe, or hanging out w/my friends.

  5. April 3, 2010 5:58 PM

    Wow, that salad looks so good! Love the combination! I would say I am with you on the way to relax! Nothing better than snugglin’ with the kitty while watching mindless tv!

  6. tastyeatsathome permalink
    April 6, 2010 8:27 AM

    I could REALLY go for that salad. Yum.

    • May 31, 2012 8:06 PM

      Reminds me of something my hunasbd told me about, that happened to him years ago.He went to a Baptist church and the preacher was raving and ranting about a certain other preacher who went to bars and drank alcoholic beverages. My hunasbd (an Anglican Christian) thought to himself I would have bought him a drink!

Leave a Reply

