Skip to content

Sweet & Sour Fail

April 1, 2010

Happy April Fool’s Day!  Did anyone “get” you?

I thought Google and Starbucks’ pranks were pretty cute.

My sister posted a picture of her hand with an engagement ring and claimed to be engaged on Facebook, which seemed to fool a lot of her supposed ‘friends’ (how well could you know someone and not know that they’re joking about getting engaged to some random guy?).   I saw a couple people post about losing their jobs, which was too close to home given the amount of people without jobs right now.  Tangent:  did you ever see Up In The Air with George Clooney?  That HAS to be one of the most depressing movies of all time.

Remember elementary school, where the jokes were fierce and you knew someone would prank you?  Not so much in the grown-up scene.  Instead, I sat at my desk and cranked out annual reports for about half of the states.  I’ll tackle the others tomorrow.

For dinner tonight, Matt made an asian chicken dish that wasn’t exactly what we were hoping for.  It was nice for a change, but not something we would make in the exact same form again.

Sweet & Sour not-so-goodness

IMG_2592

It was your typical sweet & sour sauce, just not quite right.  With pineapple chunks, red bell pepper, and chicken.  On fluffy white rice, which might have been one of the best parts of the meal.

IMG_2600

Matt and I (well, mostly Matt since I’ve never attempted to make anything Asian-related [with the exception of tofu/soy sauce stirfry] on my own) seem to really suck at Asian cooking.  Which is really too bad, since we both like it.  Failure is why we don’t try very often… and conversely, probably why we suck when we do.

We should have steamed some green beans or something else with the meal to make it a little more veggieful, but I was out running while Matt was cooking.  Beggars can’t be choosers.  😉

——–

I need to foam roll a little before I settle in for the night.  I envy people that talk about how good foam rolling feels because I think it’s pretty much torture.  But I’ve been cursed with bad arches and drama-queen shins and rolling and icing are pretty much key to pain-free running.

But it’s all good because tomorrow is FRIDAY! 

Did you play any jokes on anyone today or hear about any good ones?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2010 7:16 PM

    I thought the starbucks joke was hilarious. Saw a few pranks…most were just weird! I have a recipe for beef and broccoli on my blog you should try- you could totally make it with chicken too

  2. April 2, 2010 4:30 AM

    No pranks here, thank God.

  3. Matt permalink
    April 2, 2010 10:28 PM

    Just because every Asian dish I try is about as tasty as shoe leather does not in any way mean I suck at cooking Asian food! Er, ok, maybe it does. Everybody’s got to be a critic.

Leave a Reply

