Skip to content

Peas squared

April 4, 2010

Hola!  I apologize for any typos in this post as Zeus the cat is trying his hardest to take over my lap and help me blog.

Sorry I went sort of MIA.  It’s been a rather busy weekend.  🙂

After work on Friday, I went swimming and got my hair cut.  I didn’t have a lot of time to work with before I had to be across town to get my ears lowered, so I had to shove food in my mouth about the second I walked in the door after the pool.

Enter the easiest quasi-real food meal ever:  Mac and Cheese and peas.

IMG_2607

No applesauce this time – would have taken precious seconds.

For the record, this was not going to be enough for dinner, so I ate two bowls of Rice Chex and soymilk when I got home.  I’m sure you’ve all seen what cereal and milk look like, but if you haven’t, I’ve posted pictures before.

We settled on the couch to watch TV and I fell asleep on Matt’s shoulder about 0.2 seconds after we turned the TV on.  I haven’t the faintest clue what happened in that Fast Forward.  (Side note:  we love that show.  Have you seen it?)

On Saturday, we slept in a little and bummed around the house for a couple hours, watching TV and reading the news.  I had some of that Erewhon brown rice cream cereal with cottage cheese, peanut butter, grape jam, and maple syrup.

IMG_2616

I attempted to trick the cereal into making a more voluminous bowl by slowly adding more and more water… and it backfired.  This was like brown rice soup.

After digesting a bit, we went grocery shopping and then I headed out for a bike/run brick:  18 miles against the worst wind I’ve encountered this spring thus far and a really sad and slow 5k.   The wind was seriously bad.  And I made a wrong turn somewhere towards the end of the ride that resulted in my having to climb the biggest hill I’ve ever climbed… with the wind blowing straight at me… at the very end of the ride.  I thought I wasn’t going to make it as I was about halfway up, but alas I use clip-in shoes and if I had even stopped moving forward for a second, I probably would have ended up flipping over several times as I slid down the hill.  Which is kind of a scary thought.  But alas, I made it, though my legs were shaking as I ate my goo and changed into my running shoes.

Goo?

IMG_2662

First, let me note that the company does NOT claim this product is gluten-free.  They note that there are no gluten ingredients used but say that it is not made in a dedicated GF zone.

So why would I eat it?

Well, my house isn’t a dedicated GF zone, nor is any restaurant I ever eat in.  In a perfect world, everything would be guaranteed GF, but this isn’t a perfect world (I’ve posted about this before) and while I would not recommend trying a product that comes with this warning if you have a wedding, big presentation, or something special coming up, I think it is fine (and normal) to take calculated risks occasionally. 

All that to say, I didn’t think this would cause a reaction and it didn’t.  At least not this time.  Something important to consider when eating any packaged product, even those that claim to be GF, is that ingredients can change without notice and contamination can occur at any time.  The product you’ve been eating for years can make you sick one time and never again.  Or it could make you sick every time going forward. 

Eating anything but entirely whole foods is always a risk, but it doesn’t mean you should occasionally take (calculated) risks.

On my way home, I stopped by the grocery store (and silently apologized to anyone that happened to be within a 2 ft. radius of me) to grab some ingredients for dinner and saw this beauty:

IMG_2622

Summer fruit is almost here!

Other snacks/late lunch included Nut Thins and guac and string cheese.

That wasn’t going to hold me over long, so we made an early dinner AKA an Indian Feast.  We bought an Indian cookbook (Indian Home Cooking:  A Fresh Introduction to Indian Food, by Suvir Saran) a while back but hadn’t made anything (truth be told, we were kind of scared).  We chose a chicken curry dish and spicy peas side dish.

I’ve mentioned it before, but Matt and I pretty much suck at cooking anything Asian.  We’ve tried multiple times, but it never turns out right.  So, short of a miracle, we weren’t expecting anything good to come out of our foray into India.

And boy were we wrong.

OMG was this fantastic.  Took freaking forever to cook but it was SO good!

IMG_2635

The chicken curry was pretty standard and totally delicious which means it was FANTASTIC when you consider that WE made it. 

And the peas?

IMG_2636

REALLY, REALLY good.

If these two dishes are anything like the rest of the stuff in that book, we have a whole lot of good Indian food coming.  I just need to recreate my favorite Amy’s meal,  Paneer Tikka, and life will be perfect.  🙂

Sunday

We were on a schedule today, as we were spending most of the day with my parents, so I woke up early and made breakfast.

IMG_2645

Not your prettiest breakfast ever, but it was a nice change.

  • 1/4 c. Erewhon brown rice cream
  • 1 c. Silk soymilk
  • 1 small apple, chopped
  • cinnamon / stevia / vanilla / puddles of syrup

I chopped the apple and nuked it for 2 minutes while I cooked the cereal, then mixed them both together.  It was really good – reminded me of those apple & cinnamon instant oatmeal packets when I was little.

After I digested a bit, I hit up the pool and swam 2k.  I’m not super comfortable in the pool – running and cycling have always been my things – but I’m getting faster and more efficient and am finding that I really, really LIKE swimming.  It’s peaceful and mind-clearing.

When I got home, I took a speed shower and we practically ran out the door and over to my parents, with a pit stop for some Nut Thins.  You wouldn’t (or maybe you would) believe this, but we’re out again… so I bought 6 boxes and am hoping that’ll last us a couple weeks.  😉

Speaking of Nut Thins, I bought some guac at the store and my parents, Matt, and I (but mostly me) snacked while cooking dinner.  It says a good bit about how good these are that my gluten-eating parents both really liked them.

I also had some leftover chicken curry + rice.

IMG_2649

(Don’t they have fabulous light in their kitchen?)

I worked at the kitchen table while my Mom cooked – some things never change, right – and then it was time to eat!

Love the centerpiece Easter tulips!  (Actually, I love Tulips of any day – they’re my favorite flower)

IMG_2657

IMG_2658

My mom made a pretty traditional turkey dinner for Easter, but since we weren’t able to verify that the turkey was GF (the label listed “turkey broth” and “flavorings”, both of which are iffy), I didn’t eat it.  She did make several sides that were not only really good, but tummy-friendly.

IMG_2652

Mashed taters, asparagus, and salad (which I drizzled with olive oil and balsamic before eating).

Conversely, here is my Dad’s plate (he added cranberry sauce later):

IMG_2660

Mashed taters with gravy, green bean casserole, and turkey with gravy.  He wanted his food to be on the blog 🙂

We watched a History channel show on the Shroud of Turin which was spine-tingling and totally Easter day appropriate and now we’re home and I have some brownies in the oven (also Easter appropriate!).

Hope you guys had a nice Easter and a great weekend!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 5, 2010 6:00 AM

    Sounds like a great, busy, healthy weekend! I know I said this before, but you make me want to get back into swimming- its such great exercise and something about it is so peaceful. Lots of yummy eats. I love peas (used to hate them as a kid). Your Easter meal at your parents looks fantastic as well. We had a great weekend- cannot believe its over already (booo).

  2. April 5, 2010 8:00 AM

    Sounds like a great weekend!

    We watch Fast Forward also but I always fall asleep and feel so lost every time a new on is on!

  3. April 5, 2010 9:51 AM

    Nothing says Easter like Tulips! They are my most favorite flower!
    I LOVE eating peas with mac n cheese! I usually just spoon the peas right over the Mac and stir it all together =)

  4. tastyeatsathome permalink
    April 6, 2010 8:22 AM

    Those peas and mac and cheese look really good, actually!

Leave a Reply

