Skip to content

2 Funerals and a…

April 6, 2010

This morning was the most heart-breaking funeral I’ve ever attended (and sadly, I’ve been to a lot of funerals).

Last Tuesday, the daughter of one of our employees passed away.  She was 7 and choked to death at school.  The circumstances around her death are a little strange and there may be some negligence (in my opinion) by the staff at school, but I don’t know 100% of the details because that’s just not something you ask someone when their little girl just died.  He and his wife seem to be doing as well as is expected and my coworker whose daughter passed away in December has been a big help to him (which is probably therapeutic for him as well).

It was also one of the longest funerals I’ve attended.  There was a 30 minute slideshow of pictures of her and video clips from her first days of school.  Lots of pictures of her and her family, set to songs.  The pastor spoke for nearly an hour.  And there were a lot of her little friends there – her best friend even said a few words.  It was beautifully done… as good as a funeral could be, I guess. 

Clearly anytime anyone dies, it’s sad.  But it is so much more difficult when it is a little kid.

—–

Nothing exciting to report from yesterday – I slept awfully on Sunday night, so I ran 4 miles after work, ate a small brownie for a pre-run snack and a big brownie for dinner, and went to bed early.  I am pleased to say that being fueled by brownies made my run all that much more fun.  I’m thinking a pre-run ritual of brownies should be enacted here forth?  😉

I was planning on heading by the running store to pick up another pair of compression sleeves and going riding over in Coppell (which has nice wide streets),  but my stomach didn’t feel too good this afternoon and my body is a teensy bit achy, so I decided to skip a workout.  Which turned out to be a really good thing since the little bit of wind I noticed as I was walking to my car has turned into a wind advisory.   My stomach hasn’t quite recovered from the glutening a couple weeks ago and still gives me random occasional trouble.  This is why it is SO important to be vigilant about making sure your food is safe – even after your initial symptoms have gone away, it can take a really long time to get back to normal.

Anyway, dinner tonight was pretty simple and totally delicious.  I ate a good bit of Nut Thins and guac when I got home, so I wasn’t hungry for a huge meal.

“Low + Slow” Sweet Potatoes

IMG_2668

Brushed with olive oil, s+p, and garlic powder, then baked at 350* for 30 min. and 400* for 10 min.

Never thought I would like sweet potatoes as much as I do when done this way.  They’re a little crispy on the outside and soft and creamy in the middle.

Ironically, kind of like my brussels sprouts.  Maybe I’m more of a texture person than I thought I was?

‘Sprouts

IMG_2669

More olive oil and s+p on these guys. 

IMG_2667

+ an egg and cheese sandwich

(that I haven’t figured out how to make look pretty for the camera yet)

IMG_2674

Still loving this Kinnikinnick Tapioca Rice bread.  It is similar to their english muffins (that I have renamed “God’s Gift to Me”) in texture and taste, but richer.  You could even say that it is better than gluteny bread…  almost.  [Chewy French bread is one of my favorite things in the world.]

—–

I know I say this every week, but how is it nearly Wednesday already?  Further, how is it APRIL 6TH already?  2010 is nearing halfway over.  How is that possibleIs your year flying by, too?

Looks like tomorrow’s weather is going to be equally uncooperative.

image

Texas:  as if the 150* summers weren’t bad enough, the wind and rain like to ruin my spring plans, too.

Nite!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. janeterin permalink
    April 6, 2010 10:43 PM

    Oh wow, that is just the saddest thing. My heart goes out to them. I’m sure it meant a lot to the family that you were there to support them. Ack, just awful.

    My best half-marathon times was the day after I worked at an Apple Fest and ate like a tray of apple pie, so I feel ya on the brownie thing! 🙂

    I just tried Nut Thins with hummus last week – so good!

    Year is, indeed, flying by! And FLYING toward my 30th birthday, yikes. Slow down, 2010.

  2. April 7, 2010 5:38 AM

    How sad about the funeral. I have no concept of how parents deal with that kind of thing.

    Great dinner! I’m totally having sweet tato tonight- a white on that I picked up at the farmers market! Can’t wait to try it.

    Hope your tummy feels better

  3. April 7, 2010 8:45 AM

    that’s so sad…i hope that the family is OK!

    also, low & slow sweet potatoes are heavenly – there’s really no other word to describe!

  4. April 7, 2010 9:42 AM

    I am so sorry about your co-workers child. That is so sad.

  5. Heather @ For The Health Of It! permalink
    April 7, 2010 11:33 AM

    So sad about your coworkers daughter.

    I need to try that low and slow method for sweet tators.

  6. April 7, 2010 1:26 PM

    I read about that sweet little girl in the news last week. What a small world that you know her family.

    My year is also flying by! Glad to hear it’s not just me.

    I also love Nut Thins. There’s also a cracker you can get at Target that are the same size and crunchiness, but they are rice. YUM.

    I need to try that bread. I keep reading your posts about it and it’s making my mouth water.

    Hope you’re having a good day!

  7. April 7, 2010 11:44 PM

    How tragic! =( I hate hearing about children that lives are ended too soon.

Leave a Reply

