Skip to content

Okie for a weekend

April 11, 2010

I had a meeting in Plano (north of Dallas) on Friday afternoon and headed north on I-35 to Oklahoma City after the meeting was done around 3 to spend the weekend with my best friend Kara.

IMG_1624_edited 

Kara is an attorney in Oklahoma City with a fabulous job and a new house.  She’s been down to see me a couple times since she moved in before Thanksgiving, but I hadn’t made it up there yet (December through mid-March is my busiest time at work). 

So north on I-35 it was.

IMG_2687

IMG_2689

Not the world’s most scenic drive, but it’s a straight shot 3 hours up, which means a lot of zoning out and listening to old CDs.  I have Sirius satellite radio which I listen to 99% of the time I’m in the car on a day to day basis, but I love the opportunity to listen to old CDs on road trips.

I did have to pull over in Gainesville TX around 4 PM and whip out my laptop at a Starbucks for a work “emergency” that turned out to not even be an emergency in the slightest, which added about a half hour to my trip and put me right in the middle of rush hour traffic once I hit OKC.  😦

[Oh, and speaking of that laptop, I found my battery charger happily coiled up underneath the couch when I got home.  It’s a miracle I manage to make it out of the house with my purse most days.]

For dinner, we decided to go to PF Changs since it is right around the corner from her new house.  I’m a big fan, but for some reason, Matt and I don’t tend to go very often (need to correct that).  Our waiter was either high or a slimebucket, as he greeted us with a “Hey, how YOU doin’” (a la Joey from Friends) and then proceeded to forget that one of the most important parts of his job is to keep our Diet Cokes full. 

But the food was good.

PF Changs introduced 5 new entrees to their GF menu a while back:

  • Mongolian Beef
  • Hong Kong Beef with Snow Peas
  • Beef a la Sichuan
  • Pepper Steak
  • Beef with Broccoli

Pretty much the only beef I eat is steak, but after talking to our high-as-a-kite waiter for a bit, I decided to try the Beef a la Sichuan.

IMG_2694

(This was one of their “logo” plates, which I have learned is very important to pay attention to at PF Changs.  If the plate doesn’t have their logo on it and the ramekins for the sauces aren’t red, it probably isn’t GF.)

IMG_2698

Word to the wise:  this is a VERY spicy dish.  I like spice, so I was OK with it but I’m not going to lie – my lips burned a little for the rest of the night.  🙂

And I might have had that fabulous GF chocolate dome that escaped the camera.  But rest assured – it was a little dome of heaven. 

The rest of the night was spent chatting and drinking wine.  I miss our frequent girls nights!

On Saturday, we slept in a little and then went shopping.  Before we left, I heated up some of the tomatillo casserole that Matt made last week.  (I packed a few servings of it along with some fruit and nuts in a cooler before I left on Friday.)

IMG_2702

I also had some watermelon and a vanilla Chobani. 

Kara is one of those master shoppers – she can sniff out a sale from miles away.  She managed to MAKE money this shopping trip by returning some items because they’d just gone on sale and then snapping them back up plus 3 more for a net gain.  I didn’t make money but I did score a fun dress and some cardigans from JCrew. 

Kara, the boy that she is friends with, and I went to a service at her church on Saturday night and then to Outback for dinner.  We’d planned on making dinner at her house but were late getting back from shopping (what a surprise) and, well, I wasn’t going to turn down a chance at the Thunder from Down Under.  🙂

IMG_2710

A captain + diet coke to start while we waited at the bar for a table.

Then one of my favorite things about Outback – their salads.

IMG_2715

It must be quality of ingredients because their dinner salads are fabulous.  Greens, cukes, sliced grape tomatoes, red onion, and mixed cheese that I topped with a little oil and vinegar.

For dinner:  sirloin with dry steamed veggies and a dry sweet potato.

IMG_2721

IMG_2718

This is the 4th sweet potato I have had in a month, which is 4 more sweet potatoes than I had eaten in the past 4 years. 

I never hated sweet potatoes, but I was never a big fan of them when they were doctored up with other sweet ingredients (like sweet potato casserole at Thanksgiving).  Since I’d never really tried them plain or savory, I had no idea how GOOD they are.  (Apologies to the husband who thinks the smell of sweet potatoes alone is enough to make him vomit – I will be eating a lot of them going forward!)

Aaaaand there was definitely some Thunder from Down Under (but we took it to go and ate it while watching The Blind Side).

This morning, I met my sister for coffee before heading out of town. 

Before I packed up, I heated up another serving of the tomatillo casserole, and some cantaloupe.

IMG_2724 

When I got home this afternoon, I threw together my favorite yogurt combo:

Kabocha + plain lowfat yogurt + cinnamon + stevia + flaxseed

IMG_2727

Plus an unpictured apple.

I’m sure dinner will be the last of the casserole stuff (which really is very good, but I’m ready to eat something else) and a bunch of the black grapes I bought yesterday.

I need to make plans to get to OKC more often – I miss Kara and my sister and, ironically, I miss Oklahoma (a little bit).   I drove past our old house as I always do – not that it’ll change drastically, but it’s neat to see it since we lived there for so long – and I’m feeling a little nostalgic. 

When was the last time you felt nostalgic?  What about?

Hope you all had a nice weekend!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. janeterin permalink
    April 11, 2010 8:41 PM

    Ooh, I’m glad you said sweet potato! That just reminded me I have one – and that’s what I should have for dinner! Cooking now! I like to cook them for like an hour in the oven, because the sugars get all naturally caramelized. So good.

    I love PF Changs, too, but never go because there aren’t any in the city!

    • thedallasceliac permalink*
      April 13, 2010 3:39 PM

      Um, that’s probably because you have super fantastic asian cuisine in SF and it would almost be blasphemous to go to a chain restaurant. : P

      Actually, I really like PF Changs and I”m sorry you don’t have access to one!

  2. April 11, 2010 10:43 PM

    Glad you had such a nice weekend. The dish from PF Changs looks great. I haven’t ever eaten there and they’re putting one in right down the road. I love Jcrews dresses and cardigans- sounds like you got some good stuff shopping. Last time I felt nostalgic was when my best friend called last week and we talked about high school

  3. April 13, 2010 8:28 PM

    1. Your description of the waiter made me giggle.
    2. I’m not sure if it’s nostalgia, but I’m homesick for NYC about 8 times a day!

Leave a Reply

