Skip to content

Where in the World Is Carmen Sandiego?

April 14, 2010

whinwoiscasa

I’m pretty sure that there aren’t but a handful of people that grew up in the 80’s and 90’s in the US that didn’t play this game.   Did you?  We played it in computer class or whatever they called that class where you screwed around with games on the 10 year old Apple-donated Macs and pretended to not know how to type so you could stay in the class longer.  Didn’t everyone do that?  😉

Anyway, we know where Carmen has been.  Where have I been?

Well, there has been a lot of work,  a lot of homework and exams, and a little of this:

IMG_2745

Yeah. 

I was so happy to be out of the office that I decided to fling my body onto the pavement A car turned suddenly in front of me and one of the cons of wearing clip-in shoes is that when you have to stop imminently, unclipping your shoes just doesn’t always happen.  So I kissed the pavement.  And then got up, brushed myself off, and tackled the biggest hill of the bunch.

It was a fabulous ride, actually – I did 21 miles in about an hour and a half, right against the wind.  I felt like I could go forever, but I ran out of water and then shortly after that, I bit the dust.  So I took that as a sign I should head home.

Dinner tonight was quick and easy (aren’t all my meals?).

IMG_2738 

Ever seen those “steam in the bag” veggies Target sells?  I bought this asparagus so long ago I can’t remember.  I’m not a huge fan of veggies steamed over other cooking methods (roasted or grilled impart more flavor, IMO), which is why I hadn’t eaten this package yet.

But drizzled with a little olive oil and sprinkled with some salt, it was pretty tasty.  And quick.  And easy.

And the main part?  An egg white veggie frittata!

  • 6 egg whites
  • 1/4 c. cottage cheese
  • spinach
  • bell pepper strips
  • ancho chile powder, ground cumin, cayenne pepper

Cook on the stove like an omelet for a couple minutes until slightly set, then throw into a 350* oven for 8 minutes.   It’ll puff up and the cottage cheese will melt.  Yum.

I also had a big smoothie.

IMG_2754

Recovery shake at it’s best:

  • 1 c. soymilk
  • 1/2 c. POM juice (from the dwindling POMWonderful stash – this stuff is so good!)
  • 1 scoop Acai
  • 1 t. maca
  • 1 scoop protein powder (GNC unflavored)
  • SPINACH
  • (frozen) mango, berries, pineapple

——

Thursday tomorrow which means Friday is coming SOON!

How is your week going?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2010 4:07 AM

    oh my goodness! I’m glad you’re ok! I bet that was a scary moment. I’m not sure I could keep riding right after that. I agree…steamed veggies are ok…but roasted are better. I’ve been talking about doing brinner all week- your eggs are inspiring me to finally make tonight the night! Week is going well…just busy. Josh was on work travel and got home at 3 am this morning, so glad to have him back 🙂

  2. April 15, 2010 4:28 AM

    Yikes! I am glad you are ok, though. That is why I am so afraid to ride bikes. People in cars are freaking crazy.

  3. Brandi permalink
    April 15, 2010 7:33 AM

    oh man, I used to love that game (and show!)

    I’m glad you’re okay! Glad it was just a few scratches.

    I can’t believe tomorrow is Friday already.

  4. Heather @ For The Health Of It! permalink
    April 15, 2010 7:49 AM

    Ouchy! Be careful girl!

    I love Targets steam veggies. That fritatta looks gooood. WIll be making soon. I have a butt-ton on egg whites in the fridge!

  5. tastyeatsathome permalink
    April 15, 2010 2:55 PM

    OMG I totally loved that computer game! I learned like so much geography from playing it all the time. And as for steamed veggies, don’t underestimate the ease and deliciousness of them! Try a bit of lemon zest, if you wanna get fancy, sometime. Yum!

Trackbacks

  1. Death And Taxes… « For The Health Of It!

Leave a Reply

