Skip to content

Celiac Anniversary

April 16, 2010

Friday Friday Friday!

I thought this week would never end.  It was an awful one and I’m happy to say it is over.

I came home from work and plopped myself on the couch.  I’m truly worn out.  The go-go-go thing can only continue on for so long before you crash.  I’m aiming to be in bed quite early to get in a good 10 or so hours and will probably fall asleep on the couch in the near future.

Today is a very special day for me. 

4 years ago this evening, I was desperately searching the web for anything that might help me feel better.  I had been sick for years and I had no hope that I would ever get better.  Through pure luck, I stumbled upon some information on Celiac and furiously read everything I could get my hands on.  It wasn’t a perfect fit – I didn’t have the most common symptoms and I wasn’t aware (at that time) that I had any genetic predisposition to it – but I was at the end of my rope.  I would have tried anything in the hopes that it would have made me feel even 5% better.

So I decided to give it a try because I really didn’t have anything to lose and at least it would have given me one more thing to check off the list that I didn’t have, thus narrowing the list of the things I could possibly have.

April 16, 2006 just so happened to be a Sunday.  I’m not big on starting things on Mondays or the 1st of the month or the 1st of the year, but… I didn’t actually think it would work.  I thought it would be another thing that I tried that I got my hopes up over that didn’t pan out to anything.

So 4 years ago today, I ate my last morsel of  gluten as a gluten-eating member of society.  And 4 years ago Sunday morning, I woke up feeling better than I had in years.  It is hard for me to comprehend how I could feel so much better after ONE day GF, but I did.  And after a week?  I felt like a new person. (It doesn’t work that way for me anymore – I’m flat on my back for 5-6 days after a glutening.)

The first couple of weeks were incredibly difficult – I didn’t know what to make myself to eat and I was completely terrified of my own kitchen (and this was before I really understood cross contamination!).  I wandered the aisles at the grocery store, picking items up only to put them back down because I couldn’t verify they were GF.  But it got easier and easier and after a while, it wasn’t hard anymore.  And now, here I am 4 years later, thanking God that I was inspired for some reason to spend a couple hours on Google.

Dinner tonight was an $11.04 Whole Foods (Whole Wallet) salad.

IMG_2775

  • romaine / spinach base
  • kale
  • red cabbage
  • red / green / yellow bell pepper strips
  • shredded carrot
  • zucchini
  • yellow squash
  • blueberries
  • cantaloupe
  • pineapple
  • dried cranberries
  • walnuts
  • olive oil / balsamic

IMG_2776

You know, I love a good salad.  But $11 for basically some raw veggies and fruit?  Meh.

I also had a slice of Kinnikinnick Tapioca Rice bread with Smuckers PB + Crofter’s Europe Superfruit Spread (which looks fine by the ingredient list, but I can’t find that it claims to be GF anywhere).

IMG_2781

And I’m planning on some wine + chocolate chip stress therapy in 3… 2… 1..

Nite!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 17, 2010 5:30 AM

    SO glad you discovered your celiacs. I can’t imagine all the painful days/ nights you must have gone through! I love WFs salad bar but it is wayyyyyyy over priced. Enjoy your weekend

  2. April 17, 2010 11:24 AM

    Happy Celiac Anniversary. Glad you are feeling so much better and that we have becomes friends out of it!

  3. Heather @ For The Health Of It! permalink
    April 17, 2010 4:19 PM

    Congrats on 4 years! I know you feel amazing! And as far as Whole Foods salad and food bars go….ggeeeeeez! I can rack up a humongo bill, but it all looks sooo goood! Everyone deserves a splurge every no wand then, and it was your anniversary!

  4. April 17, 2010 8:08 PM

    This post kind of made me tear up a little bit! So glad you are in a healthier place now!

  5. janeterin permalink
    April 18, 2010 7:41 PM

    I’m so glad you figured out what was wrong! Here’s to your health! 🙂

  6. tastyeatsathome permalink
    April 23, 2010 8:15 AM

    Congrats on 4 years. I’m at about 10 months, but about 8 months since my last intentional gluten ingestion (I did a 2-month abstinence from gluten and challenged – and boy, did I EVER know!). I didn’t have a night-and-day feeling immediately off of gluten like you, but it’s great to know the answer to our ailments! I’m so excited for you and your health – I keep reading about your super-long bike rides, and I’m in awe! Great job, keep it up!

Leave a Reply

