Skip to content

So Much For The Afterglow

April 20, 2010

Geeesh.  I am getting way too old to stay out til 2AM partying at a rock concert.  😉

We had a blast, though.  House of Blues Dallas is the best concert venue I’ve ever been to – and I’ve been to a lot of concerts over the last 10 years.  It was stadium seating and where our seats were, we could see the stage perfectly.  That’s a big deal – I have only ever had a perfect view of the stage from the pit, and at 25, I doubt I’ll be buying pit tickets ever again. My only complaint is that the seats were roughly the size of sardine cans and everyone was practically sitting on each others laps.

I think I’ll compile a list of all the bands I’ve seen.  Last night, I was talking to the guy sitting next to me about good concerts and I realized that I have seen a lot of bands play live.

IMG_2800

Hello, gray overcast day.

The lineup was The Veer Union

IMG_2807

Burn Halo

IMG_2831

Saliva (who I saw TEN years ago this summer)

IMG_2841

You might recognize the lead singer, Josey Scott, from the TNT show Wanted… or you may not if you’re not a crazy cop-drama show addict like I am.  I met him the last time I saw them play and he’s a really nice guy and was totally not a creeper to a 15 year old girl.  Always a nice thing.  😉

And the headliners:  Puddle of Mudd

IMG_2854

(Yeah, I know there is more to the band than the lead singer, but I’ve had a little itty bitty crush on Wes Scantlin for about 15 years. 😉 )

Overall, we had a blast.  The acoustics were great and the setlist for all of the bands was great.  They interacted a lot with the crowd and it was awesome.

Awesome enough that I didn’t mind getting home at 2AM and getting about 4 hours of sleep.  🙂

Pretty easy day at the office today (which I needed, after my late night) and a really fabulous 2k swim after work, during which all I could think about was sweet potatoes for dinner.  Funny that in a month, I’ve gone from being a sweet potato hater to a sweet potato lover. 

So, on the plate for tonight was most definitely a sweet ‘tater.

IMG_2863

1 huge sweet potato, olive oiled and garlic powdered and plopped in the oven at 350* for 30 min. and 400* for 9 min. (because I got impatient).  Plus ketchup for dippage.

And a completely unrelated ‘main’ dish:  fake baked ziti.

IMG_2858

Simple + easy (as if I would do much of anything else)

Veggies:

  • asparagus
  • red bell pepper
  • yellow squash
  • snap peas
  • carrots

Plus:

  • Classico Fire Roasted Garlic + Tomato sauce
  • 1/4 c. cottage cheese
  • Prudhomme’s Pizza & Pasta Magic

And then:

  • a healthy handful of part-skim mozzarella

Feast!

IMG_2855

—–

I’m tuckered out – late night, little sleep, big workout – and my sweet potato is calling.

Happy Humpday!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 21, 2010 4:06 AM

    Looks like an awesome concert! Totally worth the 2 AM bedtime 🙂 I want to make a batch of fake baked ziti now! I might have ot run out for additional supplies. Hope you have a good one

  2. April 21, 2010 5:21 AM

    Sounds like an awesome concert!!

    Did you send me a twitter dm? I replied and did not hear back from you and was kind of wondering if it was real to start with.

  3. Heather @ For The Health Of It! permalink
    April 21, 2010 9:02 AM

    Sounds like an awesome time was had! I sooo wish I could have been there. I do love HOB too! And they have the best bloody marys!

Leave a Reply

