Skip to content

Pieces of Heaven

April 22, 2010

Last night, I went on a 25 mile ride.  I have a couple triathlons this summer that I would like to do – starting with one on June 12th.  I’ve done duathlons before, but this is my first time tri-ing. Anyway, I really enjoy long rides or runs over short & speedy sessions because I can somewhat zone out and clear my mind – I don’t have to keep an eye on a watch.  Caitlin at Healthy Tipping Point did a really nice post about long rides/runs/swims/whatever being relative and more mental than physical and I definitely agree. 

I was zapped afterwards and mustered up just enough energy to cram an egg sandwich and a Larabar into my (gluten-free) pie hole before I fell asleep on Matt’s shoulder on the couch.  Post exercise exhaustion is the best kind.  🙂

Today was slow at the office and I decided to skip a run and stretch instead.  Since I had a teeny tiny bit more time than usual, I made one of my favorites for dinner:  kale chips.

IMG_2869

I’m so so grateful to the person that invented kale chips.  I mean, who would have thought to put a green in the oven?  And who would have thought it actually tasted like a (healthy) potato chip?

I simply washed a head of kale, tore it into bite size pieces, and salad spun it until it was dry.  Then I spread it in a single layer on a baking sheet lined with foil and sprayed with olive oil and sprinkled with kosher salt.  Popped into the oven at 350* for about 15 minutes, until crispy.

To go with my little green pieces of heaven (not to be confused with the gift from God:  brussels sprouts), I sliced up a couple zucchini to make zucchini chips.

IMG_2870

I don’t know why I call these ‘chips’ – they really are just baked zucchini rounds.  I’m sure other people have gotten them to be chip like, but I can’t get them to be anything other than rounds.  Good rounds, though. 

To make, I simply sliced, olive oil sprayed, salt + peppered, and baked 350* for 35 minutes.

And my new food boyfriend?

The egg sandwich.

Kinnikinnick Tapioca Rice bread + 2 eggies + slice of cheddar + a little mayo.

O-M-G.  So freaking good.

IMG_2866

——

I have another hour or two of work before I can pull out the wine + chocolate chips and zone out to TV. 

Between work + long workouts, I don’t have as much time to cook and then blog.  Which is why my meals are getting more and more “thrown together”.  I’m never going to be one of those people who spends a lot of time cooking at night, but lately I’ve been feeling as if the only time I have is to zap something frozen in the microwave and I would rather eat something worthy than eat a frozen meal every night just so I have time to blog it.  (And I wouldn’t want to read anyone’s blog who ate frozen meals every night!)

So, I’m sorry that I’m not as consistent as I used to be or would like to be.  I’m sure there will be a time in my life in the near future that I won’t be running around like a chicken with my head cut off all the time.   😉

—–

FRIDAY DANCE!!!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Lindsey permalink
    April 22, 2010 8:50 PM

    I’m going to have to try the kale and see if i can get the kids to eat it. They’re fantastic about eating fruit, but vegetables aren’t always the easiest (though they let me put spinach in their smoothies.)

    I’m sure you’ve posted it somewhere, but can you tell me how you bake your potatoes and sweet potatoes?

    • thedallasceliac permalink*
      April 23, 2010 6:29 AM

      Hi Lindsey!

      For sweet potatoes, I peel and cut into half moons about half an inch thick, brush on a little olive oil and sprinkle with garlic powder, then bake at 350* for 30 minutes and then 400* for 10 minutes. Something about cranking up the temperature at the end makes them amazing.

      For regular potatoes, I start the same way as sweet potatoes and then bake at 350* for 55-60 minutes.

      Good luck with the kale chips!

  2. April 23, 2010 4:21 AM

    Mine are still a bit more squishy than chip-like, but I roast my zuccinni (all my roasters actually) at 450* for 20-25minutes. Maybe if you up the temperature a bit you’ll get the texture you are looking for.

  3. April 23, 2010 4:51 AM

    Great job on the ride. And I can never get zuch or squash to be truly chip like either. Still good- just a little mushy 😉 Enjoy your weekend

  4. April 23, 2010 7:13 AM

    this just reminded me that i need to make some kale chips soon…those things are SO addictive!

  5. tastyeatsathome permalink
    April 23, 2010 8:16 AM

    Kale chips and egg sandwich! I’d totally go for that! I love kale chips. I can even get my green-hating husband to like them!

  6. April 26, 2010 12:59 PM

    Haha! I’m that way with my turkey bacon/cheese sandwiches on Food for Life english muffins. They’re so good and so addictive.

    The ride sounds inspiring. I ought to give something a try like that.

Trackbacks

  1. Pieces of Heaven « The Dallas Celiac Egg Me

Leave a Reply

