Skip to content

Hello World

April 28, 2010

(I’ve missed you guys!)

One of the few things that can strike fear into my (cold) heart is a seated dinner… where I’m expected to eat… where the person preparing the food is not a Celiac themselves.

Really, there are two options:  eat or don’t eat.  I don’t have a hard and fast rule about what I will do each time.  It depends on a lot of things – whether I can speak to the person preparing my food, whether I can make a quick exit if I start feeling badly, whether I have something planned the next day, etc.  Sometimes I make a decision before going that I will eat and when I get there, I decide that I can’t.   Or vice versa.  (Which is why having a backup plan is always a good idea!)

Friday night, we attended an Energy Gala at the Omni in Fort Worth.  I had decided that I was not going to eat, as it was a black tie optional, kinda fancy deal (there were several people in tuxes and floor length gowns) and I assumed I wouldn’t have an opportunity to speak to a chef.  So I brought snacks to sneak away to the bathroom to eat, but ended up eating them in the car on the way there (oops!).  I was hungry again when we were seated for dinner and decided to ask to speak to someone about the meal, thinking that they would probably give me a nebulous answer and that I’d just get  tipsy and not care that I was hungry until we got home.  (TWSS) 😉

Lucky me, some wonderful lady came out to speak to me about what they could prepare for me.  Dessert was already on the table (cheesecake), so she took it and brought me a plate of fresh fruit.  The salads were already plated, which was ironically already GF, but she said they would make me a vinaigrette, which they brought out a few minutes later.  Most of the dinner was already GF (again, it’s as if they knew I was coming) and there were very few substitutions that had to be made.  I was incredibly impressed.

So to start, the salad:

IMG_2874

IMG_2872

Mixed greens, lightly grilled asparagus, sliced almonds, dried apricots, and a thin slice of brie. 

I had mine with the balsamic vinaigrette they made me, but I think ranch was served to the rest of the guests (this is Texas – we eat ranch on everything, even at a black tie optional event).

Then came the entree, with the orange starchy thing we thought was sweet potato until we ate it.  And then we could tell it wasn’t sweet potato but still couldn’t tell what it was.  Steamed carrots blended with white potato, maybe?

IMG_2878

IMG_2877

Broccolini and a carrot wrapped with a boatneck squash, that tasty unidentifiable orange thing, chicken stuffed with something else unidentifiable (but apparently GF!), and filet.

IMG_2880

Even though I couldn’t pinpoint exactly what was what, it was a very tasty meal.  Matt and I have been to a LOT of formal dinners over the years (we met in politics) and the food at Friday’s event was one of the best we’ve had.  Icing on the cake is that it was pretty much all GF without adaptation.

And dessert?

IMG_2885

IMG_2882

IMG_2883

I think my dessert was better than the cheesecake everyone else got.  🙂

But even better?  The fact that I didn’t get sick at all.  Having corn + xanthan gum intolerances along with the whole gluten thing means that I often get sick even when there isn’t any gluten involved.  That I didn’t get sick at all is a big deal.

I’m not always this lucky eating out, and there have been many times when I’ve eaten much more simply and still gotten sick.  But it is nice to have a good experience – it means that sometimes it’s worth taking informed, calculated risks.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 29, 2010 12:27 AM

    hellooooooooooo! Great dinner out- wonderful that they were able to make some adjustments so you could eat. I agree- your dessert looks awesome- way better than any kind of cake (even cheesecake). Hope you have a nice rest of the week 🙂

  2. April 29, 2010 5:37 AM

    Glad you were able to enjoy such a nice meal out.

    I was wondering where you’d been, I was going to text you last night but I ended up getting sidetracked. Story of my life.

  3. April 29, 2010 10:06 AM

    That’s so great you didn’t get sick! And the food does look super good. Have you read Allergic Girl’s post about fear when eating the unknown? I think you might like it 🙂
    http://allergicgirl.blogspot.com/2010/04/another-trust-post.html

  4. April 29, 2010 8:09 PM

    Yummmmmmm din din! And super lucky for you! YAY~!

  5. May 1, 2010 2:58 PM

    That’s wonderful that you ended up getting a tasty meal that you could enjoy. As much as I love cheesecake that fruit plate does look pretty epic!

  6. tastyeatsathome permalink
    May 4, 2010 7:59 AM

    Wonderful that you had a great meal and didn’t get sick! I have had good experiences at plated dinners that are held at hotels. I think the kitchens there are accustomed to dietary needs like ours – the last time I experienced this, I got NO meat – and you got two! (I got like 2 portions of different steamed veggies and a baked potato, but it was good and I didn’t get sick, so I wasn’t complaining!) Good to know that Omni treated you so well.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Hello World « The Dallas Celiac -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

