Skip to content

Did someone say tofu?

May 3, 2010

It never fails to amuse me that I eat a better “vegetarian” diet now than I did when I was actually a vegetarian (from age 12 to 18).  I am in no way a vegetarian now – I’m a good Texan and like my steak large and medium rare, thankyouverymuch – but I enjoy eating vegetarian cuisine and I, of course, love my veggies.  However, over the last year I’ve noticed that the frequency with which I eat meat has dwindled.

So why, as an omnivore, do I choose to eat vegetarian several days a week?

Well, it’s not all choice.  I find that I do better on a vegetable-based diet than on one based around meats.  Most of that has to do with the typical ways most Americans eat meats:  on pizza, sausage gravy biscuits, a cheeseburger ontop a bun.   There are gluten-free substitutions for those, of course, and many of them have been featured here.  But, and I’m sad to say, I’ve noticed that my tolerance for (gluten-free grains) is well, just that.  A tolerance.  There’s an acceptable level I can consume and after that, I stop feeling so good.  Or maybe I should say, I start feeling bad.

The other reason I eat veggie most of the week is out of pure laziness.  I’m not ashamed to admit that I wish I had a personal chef and that I’m not a happy camper cooking for myself all the time.  Something about not being able to swing by a restaurant and get to-go (that was reliably safe and healthy) or order in – even if those weren’t things I did frequently before Celiac – makes forcing myself to cook all that much more painful.  So for a lazy cook, what is the fastest way to throw together a meal?  Let me tell you – it doesn’t usually include animal protein.  (Unless we’re talking about the incredible, edible egg… and I ate those when I was a vegetarian so that doesn’t count. ;)  )

Speaking of going vegetarian, I bought the renowned Eat, Drink, and Be Vegan quite a long time ago and just got around to making something out of it (I did just say I am not a happy cooker).  I like the way the meals are well balanced.  Sometimes it seems like vegetarian cuisine is simply substitutions… kind of like gluten-free cooking.  I’m tired of making substitutions.

Dinner tonight was all about balance.

Spicy

IMG_2918

Blackened Tofu from ED&BV.  Sadly, the theme for tonight was undercooked.

(I followed the recipe pretty closely but baked it at 350* for 30 min. instead of frying it.  35 or 40 minutes would have been a better choice.)

Sweet

IMG_2914

Sweet Potato!!!  Olive oil-ed, garlic powdered, and baked at 350* for 30 min. and 400* for 10 min., then another 10 min. after I realized it wasn’t even remotely done.

Salty

IMG_2916

Roasted green beans, a la Emily.  Love these.

All together now.

IMG_2921

———

After a bad experience with some Rice Chex yesterday (I swear, I don’t understand what the falling out was with my body and Rice Chex but they hate each other), I think I will limit my grains for a while.  This is a recurring issue.  I eat a lot of grains (happiness for me is a big bowl of steamed rice with butter and salt.  Or pasta.  Or a large hunk of [gf] bread with butter.), start feeling not-so-good, abstain from grains, feel great, start eating grains a little at a time again, still feel great, convince myself I was wrong about grains in the first place, eat lots of grains… you get the idea. 

So bear with me while I try this again.  I’ve been in a horrible food rut (read:  egg sandwiches and some sort of veggie for dinner every.single.night) and have been very busy tri training.  But I need to find a new staple, so I’ll be trying to get myself to try some new things. 

Best thing about Celiac?  Since you can’t order in, you might be forced to get a little creative every once in a while.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 3, 2010 9:15 PM

    girl, you are such a rock star with finding things you can eat…i would totally bore myself to tears eating the same thing every night if i were you!

  2. May 4, 2010 1:34 AM

    I have had my eye on that book for a while now. 😉 Your tofu looks delish!

  3. May 4, 2010 2:59 AM

    Sorry to hear about the chex experience and the slightly under done tofu…regardless- looks like a great dinner 🙂 I’m having some sweet tato with mine tonight and cannot wait (is it weird to be THIS excited about a future meal?). Hope your week goes well.

  4. May 4, 2010 4:13 AM

    I go through exactly the same thing with grains. I stop eating (a lot) of them and then I start back again having them three meals per day. I know I feel better when I don’t so I’m not sure why I keep going back to them. I guess it is a comfort and ease thing.

  5. May 5, 2010 11:39 AM

    I’m so glad you liked the green bean fries! (FYI – you actually linked to the wrong site with my name; jeez I feel like a brat even pointing that out!)

    I have loooooooved everything I’ve made from ED&BV! I’m not sure if they are gluten free, but the maple pecan blondies in there are ridiculous good.

    • thedallasceliac permalink*
      May 5, 2010 3:56 PM

      Sorry Emily! I figured you had the .com and didn’t check. It’s fixed now. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Did someone say tofu? « The Dallas Celiac -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

