Skip to content

Summertime

May 26, 2010

Well, this has been a busy week!

Summer has ascended upon Texas like vultures on roadkill.  I know plenty of people that love spring, but I am not one of them.  Not because I don’t like pretty flowers, cool breezes, and sunshine, but because I know that spring is just a precursor to summer.  And summer here is hot as hell.

But there are a few benefits of summer:  watermelon, lots of grilled dinners, and cheap berries.  Sadly, the husband thinks it’s too hot to use the grill in the summer, so I have determined that this summer, I will become a grillmaster so I am not dependent on him for burgers.  🙂

For dinner tonight, the husband whipped up something that was neither grilled nor summery, but delicious nonetheless. 

(Reading over the last few posts, you can tell we are major Mexican food fans.  We always have been, but Mexican is easily adaptable to my food limitations.)

IMG_2907 

The original intention was to make a stew out of an old Mexican cookbook we have, but with the amount of substitutions he made, it turned out nothing like the original… which is fine, because it was quite good. 

Durango Stew

  • 4 jalepeno or serrano peppers
  • 2 lbs. ground turkey
  • 1 T. olive oil
  • pinch of saffron
  • 2 medium onions, diced
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 red peppers, diced
  • 42 oz. crushed tomatoes
  • 1 t. oregano
  • 1/2 t. thyme
  • 1 t. ancho chile powder
  • 1/2 – 1 c. cilantro
  • 1/2 c. beef stock
  1. Toast jalepenos over medium heat, 1-2 min. per side, then soak in hot water for 20-25 min.  Set aside.
  2. Brown turkey with saffron in a olive oil.  Set aside.
  3. In same pan, sweat onions, garlic and bell peppers.  Set aside
  4. In food processor, combine soaked jalepenos with the rest of the ingredients and process until smooth. 
  5. In large stockpot, combine turkey, onions/garlic/bell peppers, and sauce.  Simmer for an hour and serve.

  We ate ours on rice with sour cream, guac, shredded cheddar, and more cilantro.

IMG_2903

Yes, we eat white rice.  I’ve never been the world’s biggest fan of brown rice and believe me, we get enough fiber from other sources.  🙂

ETA:  I’ve severely limited my grain consumption but have not (and do not plan to) gone grain-free completely.  I’m happy with how my body is responding to a few servings of grains a week.

Humpday already – Friday, get here soon!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 27, 2010 8:57 AM

    i heart Mexican, and can’t find any good Mexican in Colorado for the life of me! your meals sound great though…we love making our own now!

    • thedallasceliac permalink*
      May 27, 2010 6:30 PM

      There are quite a few good hole-in-the wall joints around here but they just aren’t safe to eat at. Making it at home is our only option, but if it weren’t for the fact that I can’t safely eat at those little restaurants, I’d be there 3 times a week. 😉

  2. May 27, 2010 11:46 AM

    WOW! This looks fantastic. Especially with all that melty cheese. I am a heat fan. I grew up (well part of my growing up) in Boston…I would prefer humidity to cold any day 🙂

    • thedallasceliac permalink*
      May 27, 2010 6:31 PM

      I complain about the cold during the winter, too. My complaining about weather knows no boundaries. 😉

  3. Heather @ For The Health Of It! permalink
    May 28, 2010 9:10 AM

    Yum! That looks awesome! You are right….it is HOTTER THAN HELL!!!! And summer has just begun….eeek!

Leave a Reply

