Skip to content

I think I just died and went to heaven

June 2, 2010

In my 4 years gluten-free, there is one item that I just can’t seem to find an adequate replacement.  I’ve searched high and low, tried a gazillion different recipes, and bought a gazillion different boxed mixes.  Sometimes the flavor is spot on, but the texture is just never there.  Not like I remember it being as a kid, at least.

For 4 years, I have missed out on cookie dough experience.  You know, when you are baking cookies and  a generous scoop just happens to land in your mouth rather than on the baking sheet?  Yep.  I was so happy to stumble upon the flax egg trick back before my GF days which meant I could skip the baking step and move right to eating it out of the bowl without worrying about salmonella (not that that stopped me before).

I’ve found lots of good recipes for gluten-free chocolate chip cookies.  My current favorite isn’t even a recipe – it’s the Betty Crocker boxed stuff (hey, don’t mess with what works!).  But GF chocolate chip cookie dough just doesn’t taste nearly as good as the gluteny version.  It’s gritty and often a little too sweet (to counteract the tastes of GF flours, I guess).  Don’t get me wrong – I still happily eat it.  But it just isn’t the same.

But that’s OK, because Larabar just came out with the coolest new flavors I could have dreamed of.  It’s as if they made them just for me.  I’m going to pretend that’s the case as I clutch these new flavors to my chest and scream for joy.

IMG_3014

  • Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough
  • Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip
  • Chocolate Chip Brownie
  • Carrot Cake

IMG_3016

These will be available for purchase in stores in July… definitely not soon enough!

I happened to have just gotten home from swimming when I opened the box from Larabar last night, and even though dinner was cooking away, I couldn’t stop myself from sampling one.

IMG_3017

It’s probably not all that surprising that the first one I grabbed was the Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough.  And oh my:  it was fabulous.  Sweet, gooey, and remarkably cookie dough-like.  Pretty much heaven.

I can’t wait to dig into the other flavors – all of which I think were made with me in mind.  Thanks for thinking of me, Larabar!  😉

12 Comments leave one →
  1. June 2, 2010 12:01 PM

    SO ENVIOUS!!! I really want to try the new flavors.

  2. June 2, 2010 12:08 PM

    WHAT?!? Those flavors sound amazing!!! I really hope we get them soon. My town is pretty slow to get new flavors of Laras in 🙂 We JUST got the tropical tart one!

  3. June 2, 2010 12:09 PM

    oh man, lucky girl! i’d love to try their new stuff…i always think that i’ll be able to since i’m in Colorado, but haven’t found anything yet! i’m so glad you were able to find a great replacement for cookies!

  4. June 2, 2010 12:42 PM

    WOW! Very exciting! Definitely can’t wait for these. 🙂

  5. June 2, 2010 12:43 PM

    oh my goodness…I CANNOT wait to try these flavors- especially the peanut butter chocolate chip- hooray for lara!

  6. janeterin permalink
    June 2, 2010 1:19 PM

    I am ridiculously excited about this! I’m going to have to find one at lunch!!

  7. June 2, 2010 2:03 PM

    jealous!! =)

  8. June 2, 2010 4:48 PM

    Just chiming in with everyone else, YUM!

  9. Heather @ For The Health Of It! permalink
    June 3, 2010 9:59 AM

    YUM! Larabar is the BOMB! Love all the flavors! LUCKY!

  10. June 4, 2010 2:41 PM

    Yay, so glad you liked them! I got a sample too and I actually teared up a little bit when I realized I couldn’t eat them until after vegan month is over!! And that’s especially awesome that you found a GF replacement for a product you’d been missing.

  11. June 7, 2010 6:18 AM

    YUM! I can’t wait to try the new Larabar flavors!!

    Hope you are doing well lady. xoxo

  12. tastyeatsathome permalink
    June 7, 2010 11:42 AM

    OMG yum. I just discovered their new Peanut Butter and Jelly Larabar the other day – it’s a struggle for me not to want to scarf it down in two bites, it’s so good. These sound great!

Leave a Reply

