Skip to content

Garlic Breath

June 6, 2010

Glad you guys are looking forward to the cookie dough flavors of Larabar.  I finished all 4 within a few days and my favorites were the Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough and Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip.

We’ve had a good weekend here in hotter than hell Texas.  I’m not so looking forward to the next few months where one sweats as soon as they walk outside.  Each summer seems to get a little hotter.  Global Warming or me getting a little more wussy each year? 

Dinner tonight was courtesy of our (Matt’s) determination to learn to make delicious Asian / Middle Eastern food.  There have been many failures along this journey, which is too bad, because we both really enjoy the cuisine.  When we lived in Norman (before I went GF), we frequented a little Indian restaurant called Misal’s ALL THE TIME.  Actually, it was after eating there that I went to the emergency room for the first time – apparently an appetizer of nan + hummus and then a meal of nan + chicken was a little more nan than my body could handle. 

But since we don’t eat out at little ethnic restaurants anymore, we’ve decided to become experts at making our own.

And tonight we were.

Shawarma dajaj lettuce wraps with spicy hummus, garlic sauce, and yogurt

IMG_3043

Shawarma dajaj (baked chicken fingers)

  • 6 chicken breasts (6 oz. a piece)
  • 1/2 c. + 1 T. lemon juice
  • 1/2 c. vegetable oil
  • 1/2 t. ground cloves
  • 1/2 t. ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 t. white pepper
  • 1/2 t. allspice
  • 1/2 t. lemon pepper
  • 1/4 t. sweet paprika
  • 1 drop vanilla
  • tiny dash cinnamon
  • 1/2 t. oregano
  • 1/8 t. salt
  • 3 garlic cloves, diced
  • 1 onion, diced

  1. Dice chicken into 1 inch cubes.  Mix all other ingredients in a bowl.  Add chicken, mix well, cover and marinate overnight.
  2. Preheat oven to 400*F.  Place chicken and marinade in a baking dish and bake for 20-30 minutes until tender and cooked through.

Spicy Hummus

  • 1 14.5 oz. can chickpeas, drained
  • 2 T. tahini
  • 2 T. olive oil
  • 1/2 t. crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1 t. ground cumin
  • 1 t. ground coriander
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • coarse salt, to taste
  • 2 T. lemon juice

  1. Combine all ingredients in a food processor and process until smooth and dip-like.  Drizzle in extra olive oil or water to thin the consistancy if necessary.

Tasty Death-Breath Sauce

  • 6 peeled garlic cloves
  • 1 t. kosher salt
  • 1/4 c. lemon juice
  • 1/4 c. olive oil
  • 3 T. mayo

  1. Combine in blender and blend away.

To assemble:

Layer romaine lettuce leaves with hummus, diced fresh tomatoes, shawarma dajaj, garlic sauce, more hummus, and plain yogurt.

IMG_3045

Eat with enough vigor that your husband notes you have some on your nose.

Repeat.

IMG_3046

Then chew roughly 800 breath mints.  🙂

Matt ate his as a salad, but a wrap sounded better to me and I’m really glad I went this direction because it was fun to get a little bit of each flavor in every bite.  These were fresh and filling, but not heavy.  Well, not heavy enough that I didn’t feel the need for 2 servings of Strawberry Haagen-Dazs afterwards.  🙂

Hope you all had a nice weekend!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 6, 2010 5:52 PM

    YUM. I love spicy hummus. Glad the meal turned out well. Job going ok? Still super busy?

  2. thedallasceliac permalink*
    June 6, 2010 7:28 PM

    Yep, still crazy busy. I annexed another department so my life is even busier. But one day it will all be worth it!

  3. June 6, 2010 9:52 PM

    Death-breath sauce?!! lol!! I love that! I am a HUGE garlic fan, so bring it on!

  4. June 7, 2010 7:54 AM

    Death breath sauce sounds perfect! Was the lettuce strong enough to work as wraps? I find some varieties work better than others.

  5. tastyeatsathome permalink
    June 7, 2010 11:45 AM

    I don’t think it’s actually getting any hotter from year to year (while I’ll admit this 100 degrees thing in early June does suck!), and that must mean you’re wussie, but that means I’m wussie too – cause it’s like I can’t stand it anymore! And I grew up here…you’d think I’d be used to the heat. Nope. I want the 80-degree days to come back.
    This sounds pretty darn good! I love the death breath sauce. And what a cooling dish for a hot day. Yum.

Leave a Reply

