Skip to content

Sweet Eats

June 9, 2010

It’s no secret that I like my desserts.  As a kid, the day I was allowed to start baking (provided I clean up my mess afterwards, of course [and by mess, I mean reconstruct the kitchen from the tornado of dirty dishes and baking supplies that blew through it – I am not now nor have I ever been a clean cook!]) was one of the happiest days of my life (sorry husband).  Kind of like driving, it gave me the freedom to decide what to eat and when to eat it.  And often that was chocolate cake, eaten frequently.

In high school, my girlfriends and I would do dessert dates.  We’d find the best dessert selection at local restaurants and dine on cheesecake or, my personal favorite, chocolate lava cake with vanilla ice cream.

In college, my roommate and I would eat dessert with every meal.  Fortunately, I’d figured out by then how to prioritize my calories:  salad with no dressing and lots of veggies + cottage cheese for dinner, 2 (um, or 3) pieces of raspberry crumb cheesecake for dessert.  🙂

I sporadically eat dessert now.  I still bake occasionally.  It would probably be more frequent but since the husband doesn’t eat a lot of sweets, I end up eating the whole batch myself and as much fun as eating a whole carrot cake in one weekend is, that’s not exactly a recipe for fitting into my jeans.

But GF desserts that I didn’t have to make myself?  Bring them on!

IMG_3034

This would be a red velvet cupcake from Sprinkles.  I went to a baby shower for a good friend and she ordered me 2 (she paid for them – this was not a free product… well, free to me, but someone other than the company paid for it).  One I ate at the baby shower and the other I brought home to show you all.  I should note that the reason the picture is dark is because I was too impatient to let our energy-saving kitchen lights power up before I snapped a pic.  It’s actually a miracle I made the 30 minute drive home with this bad boy sitting next to me because he was gone within 3 minutes of arriving home.

I have to say, hands down, this was the BEST gluten-free cake-type thing I’ve ever had.  It was moist, didn’t crumble too much, and didn’t taste like rice (big plus in my book).  And the cream cheese frosting was thick and not too sweet.  If you have a Sprinkles near you, I highly recommend it.

Adding to the sugar high was the plethora of gelato from Talenti (Disclaimer:  I received this product for free).

IMG_2990

Would you believe that I had never had gelato before?  Seriously.  I actually have only really become an ice cream fan since going gluten-free.  Before that, ice cream was always less exciting than cookies or cake.

But now that obtaining GF cookies or cake (that I myself do not bake) is much harder, ice cream has become an acceptable substitution.

And gelato?  Oh dear God.  It’s like frozen pudding – no ice crystals!  Smoother and creamier than ice cream.

Talenti is actually manufactured in Dallas – very cool.  I’m happy to support local companies in the best state in the nation!

Talenti sent me:

  • Tahitian Vanilla Bean
  • Mediterranean Mint
  • Double Chocolate
  • Roman Raspberry
  • Blood Orange
  • Caribbean Coconut

IMG_2988

My favorites were the Caribbean Coconut and Tahinian Vanilla Bean and I will definitely be purchasing some for myself once I make it through all the flavors (I think they sell them at Whole Foods).

And since I spent the weekend eating cupcakes and gelato, I now consider myself appropriately carb-loaded for my triathlon this weekend.  🙂

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Kay permalink
    June 9, 2010 5:23 PM

    They also sell a variety of Talenti at Market Street Grocery Stores

  2. June 10, 2010 4:04 AM

    Good luck at the tri this weekend!!! And how cool that your friend ordered GF cupcakes for you. They sound amazing. I have never tried Gelato!

  3. June 10, 2010 5:34 AM

    Yum on both accounts!

  4. June 10, 2010 7:04 AM

    Good luck this weekend!

    That gelato sounds amazing! All the flavors sound great.

  5. Heather @ For The Health Of It! permalink
    June 14, 2010 10:09 AM

    LUCKY!!! I LOVE gelato! And that cupcake, yum!

    • May 29, 2012 6:28 PM

      Justin!! Wow! I’m so honoured! Thanks so much! The phoots look great and it’s all thanks to talent like you. I had so much fun at the same time. On another note, I’m completely taken back at all the credit you’ve given me. It’s really too much! I give credit to all you guys that support me. Thank YOU!

  6. tastyeatsathome permalink
    June 14, 2010 2:07 PM

    So did you do okay after the cupcake? Our office had Sprinkles cupcakes a few months back, and I heard about their GF cupcake. I inquired, and the lady at Sprinkles that I spoke to said that they do use separate equipment for the GF cupcakes, but they’re measured, mixed, and baked right next to the gluten-y ones, so there’s a possibility of cross-contamination. I declined the cupcake…I had just gone through a cross-contamination reaction (to something totally unrelated – Quaker rice cakes, which say gluten-free right on the label. Boo.) so I was being overly cautious.
    As for the gelato, Talenti is AMAZING! I love that vanilla bean, and the coconut, and the pistachio. It’s wonderful. I just went dairy-free, so I have to only fondly remember it…but wow, yum.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Sweet Eats « The Dallas Celiac -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

