Skip to content

Pizza! Pizza!

July 5, 2010

Hello (blog)world– it’s me, Elizabeth.  You may not remember me, as it has been almost 4 weeks since I’ve said hello.

I’m sorry for abandoning you – it’s been a long, busy month.

So since I haven’t been blogging, what have I been doing?

  1. Training.  I’ve spent roughly 11 hours a week swimming, running, and biking.  Which is a lot of time for someone who doesn’t have a whole lot to spare. 
  2. Racing (and planning for racing). 
  3. Eating.  A lot.  Turns out when you’re on the bike for 4+ hours at a time, you’re pretty hungry when you get off. 

These days, I find it is common that I can go from a little hungry to ready to eat someone in approximately 3 minutes.  But I’m also pretty tired and time-strapped, so meals have become far less elaborate (uh, not that you could call my meals elaborate before) and far quicker to prepare.

Enter:  pizza.

More specifically, delivery pizza.  As in, from a restaurant that takes your phone order and credit card info, prepares your pizza, then delivers it to you ready to eat.

IMG_3038

Oooey, gooey cheesy pizza.  I thought I would never be able to experience the joy that is ordering pizza again. 

Several weeks ago, I received an email from Laurie at Picasso’s Pizza in Dallas.  They are a pizza-burger-grill joint that has an extensive to-go and delivery menu.  Matt orders from them frequently, but up until now, I hadn’t been able to.

Laurie emailed that her good friend is a Celiac and that their newly developed GF dough was made in a separate, GF part of the kitchen and their entire staff is well-trained on the allergy.  The crust is gluten, corn, dairy, and xanthan-gum free.

GF pizza toppings:

    Pepperoni

    Grande Hand Sliced Pepperoni

    Bacon

    Canadian Bacon

    Salami

    Proscuitto

    Freshly Ground Hamburger

    Steak Fajita Meat

    Shrimp

    Anchovies

    Artichoke Hearts

    Avocado

    Eggplant

    Garlic

    Jalapenos

    Olives Black

    Olives Green

    Mushroom

    Mushroom Portobello

    Onion Red

    Onion Sweet Maui

    Bell Pepper Green

    Bell Pepper Yellow

    Bell Pepper Red

    Peppers Roasted

    Pepperoncini

    Pineapple

    Spinach

    Squash Yellow

    Tomato

    Tomato Roma

    Zucchini

    Cheddar

    Feta

    Gouda

    Monterrey Jack

    Mozzarella

    Muenster

    Provolone

    Ricotta

    Swiss

And the taste?  Awesome.  The crust is thicker than my homemade crust, but it resembles the pizza of your youth (for me, Pizza Hut or Dominoes or Pizza Shuttle [in Norman, OK]) more closely.

IMG_3040

Sometimes – ok, a lot of times – when I’m trudging up a hill, thinking that I might die, I make a deal with myself.  Keep pedaling, and I can order pizza as soon as I get home. 

It’s not a hard deal to take.  If I were to stop pedaling, I’d tumble backwards down said hill and probably get run over by some rancher in his big truck (there are a plethora of those in rural Texas). 

So, up the hill towards pizza it is.  And ice cream, because one small pizza just ain’t going to do it after 65 miles of hills and wind.  Right? 😉

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 5, 2010 6:11 PM

    So glad to see a post from you! And that pizza! So jealous!! We don’t have any delivery GF pizza in my part of the world!

    • thedallasceliac permalink*
      July 8, 2010 6:04 AM

      Hopefully they’ll bless you guys with GF delivery pizza soon – I know NYC has had it for like 5 years at this point, so I know the jealousy!

  2. July 6, 2010 4:19 AM

    I have missed you! I’m having a venti misto in your honor right now (ok…its more in my honor because I won’t make it through this day without it ;)). Thats awesome that they have a GF pizza. We went to our favorite pizza places this weekend- Mellow Mushroom- and I noticed they now have a GF crust too. Hooray for restaurants adapting to the needs of their customers. Hope you have a good week. Congrats on all the hard training work

    • thedallasceliac permalink*
      July 8, 2010 6:03 AM

      I’ve been to Mellow Mushroom before! Unfortunately, I don’t think they have any in Dallas, but it’s so cool to see restaurants adapting!

  3. Heather @ For The Health Of It! permalink
    July 6, 2010 3:39 PM

    Glad you’re back! What kind of bike do you ride?

    • thedallasceliac permalink*
      July 8, 2010 6:02 AM

      Trek 2100 with Profile aero bars – his name is Torch. 🙂

  4. tastyeatsathome permalink
    July 16, 2010 9:56 AM

    OMG I want to go there, like, right now! Wish I wasn’t so far north, so they’d deliver to my house. So cool that they’re corn free as well. Might have to take my dad and sis out for their birthday!

  5. July 24, 2010 5:52 AM

    65 miles? you are one amazing woman! My legs hurt just thinking of going that far, I did 35 miles once…I cant imagine 65! but for that kind of pizza, bring it on! I wish more places catered to the GF community like that pizza place! It looks great!
    Hope you are well!

Leave a Reply

