Skip to content

Simple.

September 4, 2010

Sometimes, it’s nice to take a step back and enjoy the little, simple things in life.

Like sleeping in,  and throwing on a big sweatshirt and fuzzy socks once you wake up.

Zeus seems to have a handle on the simple things in life.

IMG_3228

Oh, to be a cat.

My idea of simple is a little different.

IMG_3227

IMG_3225

I’m very, very pleased with Starbucks’ new Anniversary blend.  It’s awesome.

Since I was up early with nothing pressing to do (well, there’s that massive to-do list that has spanned 2 pages, but we’re not thinking about that right now…), I took a little extra time to make a good breakfast.

IMG_3151

Fiesta omelet

  • 1 egg, 4 egg whites
  • tri-colored fajita-style peppers and onions
  • ancho chile, cumin, and chipotle
  • salsa and light sour cream for toppings

Plus a Kinnikinnick hamburger bun (work with what you have!) topped with Crofter’s superfruit (Europe) spread.

Tasty and simple.

—–

So, after my massive ride last Saturday, I haven’t gotten on Torch (my bike – yes, I named him) at all this week.

Apparently it is very common for marathoners/centurians and the like to get sick after an endurance race.  I’ve been lucky that I haven’t gotten sick from any triathlons yet, but those are over in a relatively short time compared to the nearly 7 hours I spent on the bike last Saturday.  Add to that the roughly 14,000 competitors in very close quarters.  Getting sick seemed inevitable.

I’ve spent all week fighting a sinus infection, which I’m hoping means that I won’t get sick again until the spring (I usually get 2 a year).  Despite several doses of antibiotic, I’m still feeling yucky.  I’ve alternated from feeling meh, to feeling better, to feeling meh, to feeling awful, to feeling better, and now to feeling meh again.  When my alarm went off at 4:05 this morning, I got up and started to get ready before I noticed the pounding in my head and ache in my ears and decided that hitting the road for a hilly 60 miles was probably not the best idea.

So back to bed I went, which allowed me to get up (later) this morning feeling a little bit more rested.  I know that a lot of people will exercise when they are sick, but endurance sports are a different animal than hopping on the elliptical at the gym.  When I was a gym rat, I’d work out when I wasn’t feeling great and it wasn’t an issue.  But now I have to worry about bonking on a hill or needing to turn back but still being 15 miles from my car.

Taking unplanned time off when I need it is precisely the reason I do not obsessively plan a training schedule.  I have an idea of what I want to do each week, which generally goes like this:

S: Longish run (8-10 miles) or recovery ride (30 miles), depending on how I’m feeling

M: AM: swim (1500 y.)  PM:  short ride (25-30 miles)

T: AM: medium run (5-6 miles)

W: AM: swim (2000 y.)  PM: interval ride (30-35 miles)

Th: AM: speedwork run (3-4 miles)

F: AM: swim (1500 y.)

Sa: AM: longish ride (50-65 miles)

I typically swap workouts depending on what I feel like doing and what my training friends are doing, but I aim to get in at least 3 rides a week, at least 2 swims, and at least 3 runs. 

Since this week was a bust (I only worked out once -  a 5 mile run on Tues AM), I anticipate next week will be a big week, assuming I feel a lot better.

As a Type A, having weeks like this past one really bugs me.  I don’t like to see the blip in my training logs, and I don’t like missing my Sat AM group rides (the most fun workout of the whole week).  But I’ve also learned that if I don’t listen to what my body is telling me, I’ll regret it.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 5, 2010 5:42 AM

    Sorry about the sinus infection, I know how crappy those are but interestingly enough, since I have gone gluten free I haven’t had one. I still get sinus headaches and what not but they haven’t turned into infection.

    • thedallasceliac permalink*
      September 6, 2010 7:27 PM

      I’m definitely healthier than I was before I went GF, but I still seem to get a couple of those suckers a year. So happy for you that you don’t get them anymore!

  2. September 6, 2010 12:27 AM

    Glad to see you posting! Missed you! =)

    • thedallasceliac permalink*
      September 6, 2010 7:27 PM

      Hi Tasha! Same to you! Love your cute etsy stuff!

Leave a Reply

