Skip to content

Welcome to 2011

January 1, 2011

Here we are, the first of the year.  The first day of the first month of the first year of a new decade.

Last year, I set some goals and here’s how I did (comments in red):

2010 goals

  • Feeding my body, not my mouth or (growling) stomach.
      • I did a good job on this one.  I did a better job planning (quick) meals and made an effort to eat real meals, rather than an assortment of snacks. 
  • But, allowing myself to splurge occasionally without guilt.
    • Definitely.  Racing more (and therefore training more) allowed me the flexibility to eat most of what I wanted without any guilt.  In fact, I don’t find myself craving many sweets anymore because they are never off-limits, and therefore never forbidden.  Funny how that works.
  • Organizing my home life like I organize myself at work (oh, and doing a little bit better at that, too)
    • Uh, still need to work on this one.  However, I did organize my HOME more this year, just not my home life.
  • Not sweating the small stuff.
    • Still need to work on this one, too.  I am a control freak, so it’s quite possible that this will be one of those goals on my list every year.  Baby steps.
  • Doing more cooking and baking
    • My husband did a better job at this this year. Winking smile If it weren’t for him, I’d eat kale salads and frozen mac’n’cheese and peas every night.

So I clearly fell short of my goals, but I’m not upset about it.  2010 was a very, very challenging year, but a very good one.  Amongst other things, I:

  • accepted a huge promotion
  • traveled all across the country for work
  • ran a half marathon and several other races
  • cycled a century
  • bought a new car

2011 will likely be as crazy as 2010 – if not MORE crazy – so my goals for this year are about balance and organization.

  • Delegate, delegate, delegate.
        • I have a hard time doing as much of this as I need to.  I need to spend more time training my subordinates so they can take on more daily duties and leave me with more time to…
  • …Spend the majority of my time reviewing and analyzing.
        • This is my favorite part of my job, so making this a priority shouldn’t be difficult… but it is because I’m often pulled onto project after project.  This year, I will limit my involvement in projects not directly related to my department.
  • Make time for me.
        • One of the easiest ways to do this are long runs, long swims, long rides, etc.  I’m alone with myself and can truly unwind.
  • Find balance.

So there you have it. 

Hope everyone had a wonderful, safe, gluten-free (if need be) holiday season.  We were blessed with time with family and friends, although we missed seeing several people this year, and Santa was very good to us.  Smile

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 1, 2011 8:01 PM

    Gosh, I have missed you! Glad to hear you’re doing well. Great goals for the year. Sounds like you’ve been super duper busy.

  2. Matt permalink
    January 2, 2011 2:47 AM

    >Doing more cooking and baking [For Matt]
    Hmm. I’d be ok with this. What’s holding you up?

Leave a Reply

