Skip to content

Sunday night rituals

January 23, 2011

IMG_3552

I’m a structured person.  I subdivide my to do lists into this month, this week, today.  I stress about missing deadlines, so I set earlier deadlines for myself so I couldn’t possibly miss the real deadline.  I don’t do “relaxation” well. 

So you’d better believe I have a Sunday night ritual. 

It hasn’t always been the same.  That’s the beauty of a ritual.  What the ritual involves can change, but it remains a ritual.

Lately, I’ve taken to spending Sundays at the office, getting caught up and working on homework.  For the last several years, I’ve always spent a good portion of Sundays “working” – but doing so at home proved to mean I got far less done than I should have given the hours I was putting in.  So after coffee and the news, I head to the office and enjoy the quiet.

What this also means is that by the time I get home on Sundays, I’m ready to get started on my routine – laundry, light cleaning, nice dinner (I can’t lie – Matt does most of the dinner prep), meals packed for the coming work week, and then finally, some quality time on the couch with the kitties, husband, a movie or Desperate Housewives, and a big glass of wine.

I also find that having a structured Sunday means that I can actually relax when I am finally done with everything, versus puttering around all day, never really getting anything done, thereby not really being able to relax.

Tonight’s “nice dinner” comes courtesy of a recipe we used to make all of the time, but haven’t made since we moved to Dallas, 2-1/2 years ago.

Southwestern Pork Chops with Grilled Pineapple Salsa

IMG_3546

IMG_3548

Plus grilled asparagus – simple with olive oil, kosher salt, and pepper.

And a big salad of spinach, red leaf lettuce (my very favorite), red cabbage, fresh grated parm.

IMG_3538

Plus cherry-white balsamic vinaigrette (inspired by Gena’s Fig White Balsamic)

IMG_3544

And now it’s time to enjoy the rest of the Sunday night ritual – cuddling with the kitties, husband, and a fishbowl-sized glass of wine.

Have a great week!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kelly permalink
    January 23, 2011 11:56 PM

    I envy your structured Sundays. I can say with certainty that mine was far less successful. Pork chops look great!

  2. January 24, 2011 1:15 AM

    I am the same way! I just like to get work “stuff” done ahead of time whenever possible, so that I can fit more mini relaxing in during the week. What a great dinner. The Grilled Pineapple Salsa sounds amazing.

Leave a Reply

