Skip to content

A blueberry muffin walks into a bar

February 20, 2011

One of the reasons that I don’t do the food diary thing on here (any more) is that I’m really a creature of habit laziness.  I happily eat the same thing several days in a row and usually when figuring out what to eat for a meal, I default to the easiest option.  It’s a priority thing – after a late night at the office, I’d rather save time prepping food to have a longer night with my husband.  Maybe one day I won’t have to pick, but for now, it is what it is.

One of my favorite quick foods (note: I did not say ‘meal’) is a Larabar.  I’ve eaten Larabars since before I went GF, but they became all the more valuable once I had less options. And for the sake of convenience, they’re amazing – I keep one in my purse at all times so that if I’m stuck somewhere where GF options are scarce, I won’t starve.  Because sometimes it feels like that will happen when you’re hungry, there’s nothing safe to eat, and the gluten-eaters of the world are chowing down in front of you.

Going back to the convenience factor, I tend to go the quickest route with breakfasts – Vega Vanilla Sport Protein shake and a Larabar of some kind.

A few weeks ago,Larabar sent me a surprise.

(Disclaimer: I received this product for free; however my opinions are all my own)

The box was a tell-tale sign that I was going to be interested in what was inside.

IMG_3564

IMG_3509

I can’t tell you how long it has been since I had an actual blueberry muffin (even GF), so take this with a grain of salt, but I thought this was pretty spectacularly muffin-like.

IMG_3514

Typical Larabar base:  smooshed dates and nuts – 2 (or so) ingredients that somehow manage to taste magical when formed into a bar shape, but otherwise forgettable on their own.  Plus dried blueberry bits, lemon juice, blueberry juice and a touch of vanilla.

When I eat particularly good Larabars (Key Lime Pie and Coconut Cream Pie are my favorites, but I’m not a fan of Cashew Cookie or Gingersnap), I imagine that the Larabar factory is akin to the Willy Wonka factory in the classic movie, and that there is some super cool machine that takes the smooshed date and nut base and adds a drop of (insert flavor here) essence and WHAM! you have a (insert flavor here) Larabar.

I’m sure it’s a bit more scientific than that, but magical, nonetheless.

IMG_3515

I thought these were pretty good – not overly blueberry-y with plenty of lemon and vanilla to balance it out – but they are not my favorite flavor. 

Still, I appreciate the variety, and since my breakfast has to be shelf stable, mold-resistant, and fit into my desk drawer next to 3 year old packets of tuna, this is probably the closest I’m going to get to eating a blueberry muffin most mornings, so it fits the bill.

So, lovely people at Larabar:  Can I request a chocolate old-fashioned donut Larabar next?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 20, 2011 7:48 PM

    I get excited every time you post 🙂 I’ve heard the new laras are awesome! I haven’t seen them on any of our shelves yet- but I am on the lookout. Hope you’re doing well 🙂

  2. April 3, 2011 6:06 PM

    ooh, lucky!

    i have yet to see the blueberry muffin flavor!

Leave a Reply

